Monday [Weekend Review]

This past weekend was one word: cold. I knew it was coming. I read the weather reports. For some reason, I just was not mentally ready. It’s really hard to wrap your brain around a 77 degree Monday and a 30 degree Saturday. You forget you will need things like heat and winter clothing.

Luckily, I had most of the weekend to deal with that.

Saturday I worked at the running store from 10-6. It was one of my days off from CTB so I was looking forward to an easy shift selling shoes and talking about running. We go in some great new apparel including winter gloves, hats and jackets in addition to these awesome Ithaca shirts. Who wants one?

Β 

5

At around 4 I received a text message from a coworker asking me to close CTB for her. She had some sort of illness and was really struggling. For a minute I considered not going in. I wanted to finish this shift, go for a bike ride and then head home. However, if I was in the same situation, I hope she would do the same for me. So I ended up closing the last couple hours at CTB. It wasn’t horribly busy, but I was getting tired toward the end.

Sunday was another day off (legally we have to have at least one day off each week) so I made it a good one. I did some light exercise at the gym while watching Rachel Ray. I made breakfast and then went to church to listen to a sermon about envy. I still struggle with that sometimes wishing I had someone else’s life. What has helped me the most through that is actually analyzing what they do each day and whether I want that. I like where I am in my life right now. Sure, it can be a busy struggle sometimes, but I am good at it and feel fulfilled. I have no need to be envious and upset with the life the Lord has provided for me.

4

After church I got home and made myself some lunch before heading to my parent’s house to visit and pick up some mail. We had a nice afternoon and my dad checked the tire pressure in my car (the light went on as I was driving home). He likes to do those things and I feel blessed to have him do it.

When I got home, I made brownies from some leftover chickpeas at work. If you have never made chickpea brownies DO IT! It’s a life changer! Naturally gluten free and vegan. You’re welcome people with allergies πŸ™‚

My best friend got home and decided to gut her pumpkin before going to a pumpkin carving contest at her boyfriend’s work (he bartends). I picked the seeds out of the guts and plan to roast them later this week and either eat them like that or make white chocolate pumpkin seed bark (inspired by Rachel Ray).

3

I finished the night reading a new book by Nicholas Sparks.

2

And then watched an episode of Scandal (Season 4 is on Netflix!!!) and eating a brownie.

1

What was the best thing you did this weekend?

How often do you get called into work?

Β 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

