Weekend In Review [11/13-15]

Happy Monday people! What a glorious day to be alive and here in this moment. I want to begin this post with a verse that my dad actually put on my heart this morning:

1 Peter 2:17 “Honor all people. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the king.”

I am meditating on this verse today specifically because of an emotional event that happened to me this weekend. I was very upset at a certain Facebook post (not directed at me) written by someone I respect. I had to doΒ a lot of prayer to work myself through it and this verse seems like a perfect ending. Honor all people, including the person who wrote the statement. Love the brotherhood, this makes me think of Paris and the importance of loving our fellow humans across the sea. Fear God, because He will redeem those who have lost. Honor the King, never lose sight of what is the most important.

Week-In-Review-Button-Final

Today I am linking up with Meghan at Clean Eats, Fast Feets for Week in Review. Let’s get it on!

Friday:

cfcd4ccb-4573-4006-ba60-cb4c1b1b5062

I did a fast finish workout that morning of 6 miles beginning at 6:40 pace and ending at 6:00 pace. Afterwards I refueled and headed to a shift at the running store. I am debating whether to get on the Hoka shoe bandwagon. They just look so funky!! I had the day off from CTB so when my shift ended at 3pm a few coworkers and I decided to go out for lunch at a local spot called Waffle Frolic. We ended up talking for two hours over waffles and coffee. Sometimes I don’t like going out for food because 1.) it’s expensive and 2.) sometimes it is not as good as I would make at home. However, I love these two friends and although I would have liked a lot more toppings on my waffle, I do not regret going at all. After that I spent some time reading on the bike, then headed home to relax, shower and enjoy some Netlfix…

85b9a410-5730-4540-bdc9-f0329642eb00

.,.alas, my plans were changed when I got called in for an emergency work hour at CTB. My coworker was 10 drinks deep and having a rough night. Not ideal, but I went in and helped them sort out the situation for about an hour. Finally I returned home, got into PJs and relaxed.

Saturday:

I was supposed to work at the running store from 10-6, but was also scheduled at CTB from 12-8:30. By noon, my coworker said it was slow enough that I should go to CTB and he would text me if he needed help. I was really grateful because CTB was busy. By the end of that shift I wasn’t super exhausted, but being mentally stimulated all day made me ready to veg out before bed.

That night was really emotional for me. In light of the Paris terrorist attacks, the hashtag #prayforparis was contagious all around social media. I was really happy that God was being glorified through this terrible time. One person whom I really respect on social media who also runs for my Strong Hearts team wrote a long FB post that essentially put down God saying any God would not let the Parisians suffer like they did and any smart person should just acknowledge that God does not exist. It was not just that, but how many other people on my team liked the post and put in their atheist two cents. I was distraught over this. Seriously upset over this post by a person who I do not know very well and honestly could have missed. Of course I went to sleep ruminating over what I should say, how I should react and praying hard to God. Why does He allow suffering to happen? How can I answer this to the people who ask? It was a very uneasy night.

Sunday:

I got into the word. I looked up reasons God allows people to suffer. I called my dad. I went to church and connected with other believers. Essentially, God allows suffering because He gave mankind free will. Mankind sinned. We all sin and that brings evil into the world, not just for us, but for those around us. God loves us so much, He gives us choices. The terrorists made that choice and others were affected. I am still getting through all this and praying about it. But I am at peace with how I responded. I cried to my coworkers, I spoke to a woman on my team and feel so much more educated about why pain and suffering happens. I have been wanted to expand my knowledge about God and the Bible so this was a perfect opportunity. This is yet another example of God allowing (my) pain to glorify Him. I can now reach more people and explain more accurately what the Bible says about God’s love through hardship.

After church I worked from 12-8 and it was relatively uneventful. I finished a book by Karen Kingsbury, read some blogs and called it a night.

a51a825f-a18f-45ce-8c4e-9bacf9d99ba3

How do you respond to suffering?

What was the best thing about your weekend?Β 

 

6 comments

  1. I think everyone’s view on religion is a personal one and I don’t really believe there is a right or wrong answer so long as we all treat one another and ourselves with respect and decency.

    I say go for the funky shoes. The crazier they look, the better.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

  2. Your 6 miler makes my jaw drop to the floor, you are such an inspiration to me!

    Have you tried running in the Hoka’s? I’m curious about them as I’ve been running in Asics for many years.

    I think our beliefs are exactly the same and why I feel so comfortable here reading your blog. πŸ™‚

    • Your half marathon inspires me!!! I don’t know how one of those would go right now haha. I actually am debating buying a pair for the spring but haven’t yet because I’m not sure I can justify spending the money. I am really frugal and prioritize what I spend. Right now I am saving for races so I don’t know if an extra pair of shoes is a good idea.
      That aside, I have not run in them but all the people on my running team love them! We sell them at the store where I work so I sometimes wear a pair all day and they feel nice for the long haul.
      Thank you for feeling so comfortable with me and my posts. I try to be real and just be me πŸ™‚

  3. First off, you are so super fast!!!
    This is an interesting post. I, in fact, am a “nonbeliever.” I prefer not to use the term “Athiest” as I think it has a negative connotation. But, I don’t believe in God. That being said, I would NEVER — not on social media, not in public, not in my own head — call someone stupid because of their beliefs. I would never say something negative about those who believe in God, or in God Himself.
    Some people get really offended just hearing me say that I don’t believe in God, and I don’t understand that, either. Everyone has their own beliefs, and we should all respect and love one another for the unique humans we are. I’ve had patients ask me if I believe in God. My response is always, “I believe in love and the goodness of humankind.”
    I’m sorry you were hurt by that post, but it sounds like you found a way to work through it. We have never met in person, but I think you are lovely, by the way πŸ™‚

    • Oh I think you and I would get along really well. It’s probably because we are New Yorkers…but Upstate New Yorkers πŸ˜‰ I think the way you respond to your patients is very PC. I bet you make them feel good.

Leave a Reply

