#FastFriday [11/20/2015]

When Friday is never your actual Friday, you get pretty excited about having the weekend off (from one job at least). Tomorrow I head to Watkins Glen for Farm Sanctuary’s Celebration For The Turkeys. I was kind of hoping it would be warmer this year (last year was frigid) but I think temperatures are supposed to drop tonight so I will be freezing again. No matter, the good vegan vibes and food are heart warming enough for my soul. As I type this, Sterling has begun to climb over my face…he does not like it when I blog and ignore him.

Without any other ramblings (till the end) here are my weekly favorites:

1

5 Workouts

Monday: 2x2x2

3 x 2 Miles at 6:00 pace with 3 minute recovery in between

Tuesday:

6 miles at 7:30 pace

Wednesday:

14 miles at 8:30 pace

Thursday:

10 miles at 7:30 pace

Friday: Stolen from Hungry Runner Girl

10Β minutes at 6:40

2 minutes at 7:45

8 minutes at 6:30

4 minutes at 7:45

6 minutes at 6:20

6 minutes at 7:45

4 minutes at 6:10

8 minutes at 7:45

2 minutes at 5:55

Warm up at 8:00 pace for 10 minutes

Full Recovery

honor-God

Five Verses:

Monday: Philippians 3:13

“Brothers and sisters, I myself don’t think I’ve reaches it, but I do this one thing: I forget about the things behind me and reach out for the things ahead of me.”

Tuesday: Hebrews 11:6

“It’s impossible to please God without faith because the one who draws near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards people who try to find him.”

Wednesday: 1 Peter 5:8

“Be clearheaded. Keep alert. Your accuser, the devil, is on the prowl like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.”

Thursday: John 15:5

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, the you will produce much fruit. Without me, you can’t do anything.”

Friday: 1 Corinthians 6:20

“You have been bought and paid for, so honor God with your body.”

74fc33fd-7a48-4180-b0e1-c67aee90fb67

5 Randoms

1.) Because it’s been so warm here lately, I have been sweating a lot through the night. When I get hot, I tend to dream very vivid and sometimes emotionally taxing dreams. This week I have been yelled at by my mom for not eating eggplant, stole a computer and blamed someone else for it and left the oven on all day, skyrocketing our heating bill and putting me in poverty. Sleep is stressful!

2.) It is my best friend and roommate’s birthday on Monday so on Sunday we are heading to a restaurant to celebrate! She is the best and called ahead to make sure there were vegan options. I am so blessed to have a person like her in my life.

3.) My sister is running the Philly half marathon this weekend and I am really excited for her. She invited me to go down with her, but I am volunteering on Saturday and working/partying on Sunday so I could not. She is nervous but I know she will PR and have a great time! They are calling for snow though…

4.) I have decided to make sweet potato casserole and chocolate banana brownies for my bosses Thanksgiving next week. I got the recipe from a new podcast called Teach Jasmin To Cook Vegan. It is an Our Hen House podcast spin off. It was highly entertaining during my long run this week. Jasmin is fabulous!

5.) Sterling is meowing really loud right now which means I should pay attention to him. This is why I would be a bad parent, I think I would be really irresponsible. Like “yea babe cry for a couple more minutes, I have to finish this blog.” Not a good thing.

Tell me:

Your most fun workout!

Your favorite read of the week!

Your favorite podcast/TV show!

10 comments

  1. Farm Sanctuary is awesome and the work they do is just wonderful–understatement of course. My husband and I visited NY for the first time in 2011. We had planned a trip to Darien Lake and found out Farm Sanctuary wasn’t that far so I knew it was a must! Needless to say I’m overdue for another visit πŸ™‚

      • I’m in Hanover, PA. There are a few animal sanctuaries in PA..tho we have been to Poplar Springs in Poolesville, MD several times for their Thanksgiving WITH the Turkeys event. It is a wonderful experience with some great vegan food!

  2. Have fun at the turkey celebration, (and stay warm), and don’t forget pictures!

    I just received a book in the mail called ‘The Extra Mile’ by Pam Reed and am really excited to start reading it. (She won Badwater twice and holds the American women’s record for 24 and 48 hour runs.)

    Sterling is EXACTLY like my cat, Nelson. The times when I’m super busy is when he requires ALL of my attention! πŸ™‚

  3. Good luck to your sister running the half marathon! It sounds like you had a great week of training too. One of my favorite shows right now is Grey’s Anatomy. Even though this season isn’t as great as the ones in the past, I still can’t stop watching!

    • I was making my way through the Grey’s seasons but then the new season of Scandal came on Netflix so I’m making a pit stop to watch that, then I’ll resume Greys πŸ™‚

  4. My favorite workout is hill repeats. I know, I know… but I think they’re fun. I’ve only been reading for school, so my only read has been a Pathophysiology of the Human Body textbook. Interesting, but not fun. My favorite podcast is probably Marathon Training Academy or Runner’s academy.

    • I love MTA but heard that Runner Academy got sued by them for stealing their content. I googled it but couldn’t find out much. That might explain why Matt stopped doing podcasts for a while. I like incorporating hills into my runs but haven’t done a hill workout per se in a while. Next season!

Leave a Reply

