Sweet Potato Cheesecake Bars

Let’s be honest, I nailed it.

For the past couple months, I have been racking my brain to come up with something to do with my last can of sweet potato puree. I had two cans that had been sitting on my shelf for the past year, and was semi-successful in using one to make falafels. I tried mixing it in oats or in pancakes…but completely failed.

I should have realized I would need to make a brownie or sweet thing with them. I have a lot more success with my sweet tooth.

This recipe was generated using my super power to combined pre-made items and turn them into something that could pass as homemade.

This past Thanksgiving, I thought I would have more time to make something to bring to my family dessert, but alas I was needed to work for 9 hours the night before the big day, so my plans were dashed. Pre-made food to the rescue.

My opinion on cooking and baking: it’s the thought that counts, even if you ran out of time and had to buy something.

These bars will make you feel like you gave thought to your recipe, but also took a couple short cuts to save time.

And the taste you may ask? OUT OF THIS WORLD! The cereal for the base, the frosting for the middle layer and the white chocolate chips for the top take these bars to the next level.

My family liked the texture of the three layers and the gooeyness that stuck to their teeth. It was a nice compliment to all the pie that was also served. Make this recipe using your leftover sweet potatoes and that random can of frosting you have sitting in your shelf for emergencies (you know we all have one).

IMG_0086

Sweet Potato Cheesecake Bars

4Β cups Sugar Cookie Toast Crunch cereal (or cinnamon toast crunch)

1/3 c Earth Balance or butter

1-15oz can sweet potato puree

1 can cream cheese frosting (or vanilla)

1 package white chocolate chips

1 package mini marshmallows

In a food processor, finely blend the cereal to a fine meal texture. Melt the butter in the microwave. In a bowl, combine the butter and cereal. Press into a 9×9 pan. Put in the fridge to harden.

In a pot on the stove, melt the can of frosting. Stir in the sweet potato puree until combined. Pour over the crust. Put in the fridge to harden.

In a double boiler (or a glass bowl over a pot with boiling water) melt the white chocolate chips. I used some almond milk to thin it out and help in along. Once melted, stir in the mini marshmallows and let them go for a couple minutes. Pour over the sweet potato layer. Place in the fridge to harden.

Once hard (about 3 hours) cut in to serve. It will be very gooey, but holds up firmer than pudding.

Make this dish for your next holiday gathering and impress adults and kids alike!

What do you do with Thanksgiving leftovers?

What was your favorite dessert on Thursday?

This recipe is part of Meatless Monday with Tina Muir! Head over there to check out more posts!

untitled

8 comments

  1. I just love how you started this post out! “Let’s be honest…” I’m way more trusting of recipes when the maker appears to be confident! This looks like a dish my family would adore.

    • And super simple right? It has the assembling to make you feel like a chef, yet uses products that are already made so you can’t mess it up. Perfection!

  2. Those look fantastic! I’ve had many, many cooking/baking fails, but the wins make up for them by far. We ate Thanksgiving dinner Thurs, Fri, and last night… now they go in the freezer.

  3. Sorry, I’m going to be “that person” here… did you know that marshmallows aren’t vegetarian? They’ve got gelatin in them.

    I know they sometimes sell vegetarians marshmallows, so maybe that’s what you have. But if you didn’t know… I figured you’d rather know than not know. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

