Unsafe [TOL 12/3/2015]

Guys, I’m kind of nervous. Excited, but really nervous.

Running for me has always been therapeutic. I run because I love the feeling of pounding miles, of making myself move, of sweating. It’s hard sometimes, but generally, I get into that groove and just go.

I’ve been doing some fast paced runs in the last couple weeks and months and even though I doubt myself or want to quit, I have finished those workouts and felt stronger every time.

On Monday, I did a fast workout. 25×1:00 intervals with 1:00 rest in between. I did all those intervals at a 5:34 pace. It was NOT easy. I bargained with myself. “Stop at 15.” “Stop at 20.” “Stop when you hit 6 miles.”

We all do it. I was hurting (not really, I was just uncomfortable) and my heart was a pumping. I put my body in a state of stress and it was not having it.

I did finish the workout. I even cooled down and ran again that day. My mind was trying to stop the power my body had. By finishing that workout and the subsequent run afterwards, I realized something:

IMG_0098

I am capable of a lot more than I give myself credit for. I am capable to overcome what my mind is telling me. I can push my body farther than my mind wants it to go.

Countless times in my life, I have said “I could never do that” and took it for a fact. I didn’t test the waters because I was told what to believe. I played it safe.

Why should I continue to play it safe?

I shouldn’t, so I won’t.

I have an opportunity to get unsafe tomorrow night.

1

I’m honestly freaking out about it, but it’s something I’ve got to do. I need the data, I need to break out of the comfort zone I’ve built.

I might blow up. I might do awful. But either way, I’m breaking out of my comfort zone and that is a barrier that needs to be crushed.

How do you get unsafe?

17 comments

  1. So bizarre. My son scribbled a message and stuck it on the fridge yesterday. It reads: “If you want something you’ve never had, you’ll have to do something you’ve never done.” Not sure if this is applicable. πŸ™‚

  2. I know for a FACT that we are all so much more capable than we think we are. I just had a training session with a personal trainer the other week for a trial run, and after wards he looked at me and said “I know that I can get so much more out of you.” And I thought I had pushed myself really hard during the workout! It just shows that WE put those limitations on OURSELVES. Go for it girl. Push past those barriers you’ve put up!

  3. “I am capable of a lot more than I give myself credit for. I am capable to overcome what my mind is telling me. I can push my body farther than my mind wants it to go.” <– love this so much, and it's something that I constantly need to remind myself of. I'm my own worst enemy when it comes to not reaching my full potential and taking advantage of all the opportunities that get thrown my way. Good luck tomorrow night! Don't blow up πŸ˜‰

    • Ithaca is icy and cold and I run early so it’s a bit unsafe. I’ve taken a few falls that ended in injuries and missed races. Thanks for asking πŸ™‚

  4. I used to love running, but try as I might, I’ve been unable to run more than a mile since recovering from anorexia. But I can HIIT hard, and I can do sets upon sets of squats, and I can walk and bike countless miles before tiring. I think my mind is the only reason I haven’t pushed myself to run more than a mile. I am capable. I think I’ve become afraid to push myself because it makes me feel vulnerable. Or maybe I’m just afraid of failing, because I used to love it so much – maybe I’m afraid I won’t feel the same way if I push myself harder now. Maybe I’m scared of being disappointed, or maybe I’m just conning myself into believing I’m afraid. Anyway, this post really inspired me. I don’t have any access to a gym, but I think if the weather is nice tomorrow, I’ll go for a run. And I’ll push for two miles, and if I can do that, maybe three. I’ll just see where my legs lead me.

    • Go get it girl! You remind me of a friend I have. She also struggles with running more than her normal X miles. I totally believe you can do it. If you have to run the first mile and then walk a bit, that totally counts too. Just let your body take you there πŸ™‚

    • Right? I love the thought of being limitless in terms of what we can achieve. I really think you can do whatever you put your mind to.

  5. We’ll never know what we are truly capable of if we just stay comfortable. Fear of failure is huge for me – I don’t push myself beyond my comfort zones in fear of not living up to my own expectations. But this mentality SUCKS… so go for it girl!! Whatever happens, you’ll be stronger for just jumping in and going for it.

    • I am guilty of that as well. I figure that if I don’t try, I didn’t fail, so that’s not as bad. It’s this mentality that keeps me stuck sometimes. New years goals hahaha

Leave a Reply

