Weekend In Review [12/11-12/13]

This weekend passed by so fast! I cannot believe I already have to work at CTB again. Having two days off to work at the running store felt like such a long time! My weekend was full of online searches, political discussions and catching up with an old friend.

This morning I am linking up with Meghan from Clean Eats Fast Feets for week in review. Check out what everyone else did this past week!

Week-In-Review-Button-Final
Friday:

I went for a 6 mile MP run and almost made it through without having to use the bathroom. I swear I cannot get through one without a pit stop. This is getting to be quite a nuisance and I need to solve this problem by Spring. There are not enough bathroom breaks on my runs for the amount of them I need. If anyone has any tips, please share!

After my run, I went into CTB and worked from 12-8. There wasn’t really anything interesting to report, except when I was about to leave, we got a huge rush and so of course I stayed late. Le sigh. Oh, and I ate a couple pounds of apples. No big deal.


Saturday:

I got in an easy 11 miles before working at the running store.

This Ithaca Ice Festival and chowder cook-off was happening outside our store so there were many people milling about. Considering the temperatures were in the 50s, the sculptures did not last until Sunday. I was able to catch a photo of one while walking home that night.


The day was rather uneventful aside from my online escapade to fill out the common application. Why was I doing this you may ask? I am keeping my options for next year open. If I can find a way to finish my degree without too much financial hardship or stress, I figure, why not. Halfway through the afternoon I got THE WORST cramps. The only way they got better was if I stood up. They finally subsided once I got on the bike for my hour after work ride. Thank God.


[I’m re-reading this book. It’s still awesome!]

After my ride, I met an old friend for drinks at my favorite Mexican restaurant. We had a great time catching up and ended up talking for a couple hours! It was a nice way to end the day.

Sunday:

I worked at the running store from 12-5 and filled out a few more applications. I really have two qualifications for this: it needs to be a SUNY school and it needs to have scholarships available for XC. Even if I do not make a team, the options has to be on the table.

I went ot the store after work (I mean TARGET!) and found a few good deals…mostly candy haha


That’s all for my weekend!

What was the best thing you did this weekend? 

9 comments

  1. An “easy” 11 mile run?! If only my 2 mile runs were so easy! 😛 and good for you for plugging away at that common application! Filling in ALL that information was my least favorite part of applying to college.

    This weekend I spent a looot of time with my family, which was fun, but now I’m looking forward to a week of Christmas shopping, seeing a couple of friends, and just relaxing!

  2. Do you drink alcohol now? No judgment – just wondering! I thought in one post you mentioned you didn’t drink alcohol.
    I’ve read Chrissy’s book and loved it too!
    I don’t understand how people could run a full marathon without stopping. I have run 5 marathons and have stopped no fewer than 3 times 🙂
    I ran with my friend for the first time since she had her baby! We run together almost every weekend so I felt like the world was back to normal.

    • I drink very occasionally and if I feel comfortable. Too expensive for me to do regularly.
      I like running with people! Sounds fun!

  3. Ellie, I’ve run 55 marathons and know what works if you want to avoid bathroom stops. The two days before your marathon, absolutely no veggies. (I know that sounds harsh but they will just make you have to go). Eat bagels, breads, banana’s, rice, potatoes…think WHITE stuff. ANIMAL CRACKERS !! Eat a substantial dinner the night before your marathon, as late as possible. The morning of the race, if you must, only tiny sips of water…drink water and gatorade along the course as needed. It will be used immediately. Also, I do not eat before a marathon because it will only start everything churning in your stomach. You don’t want that and you should have lots of stored carbs in your muscles the days and night before your race.

    These are just my thoughts and advice. I am no doctor but know what works for me in marathons and ultra’s. 🙂

  4. That ice angel looks stunning. What other sculptures were there (if you got a chance to see any others)?
    I think keeping all options open is a good idea. You never know what might happen so having a plan B is handy. Fingers crossed for you!
    Happy Wednesday!

  5. I’m glad you liked that book. It wasn’t my favorite, but I am super impressed with Chrissie’s abilities.

    That ice angel is great. All of the holiday stuff here looks really out of place too without any snow!

Leave a Reply

