Weekend in Review [12/25-12/27]

Woah the weekend that I had a day off! It was Christmas, but still days where I am not scheduled to work at all have a bit of a relaxing feel. Today I am linking up with MeghanΒ at Clean Eats Fast Feets for Week in Review. For me, it’s a time to reflect on the wins of the past few days.

Week-In-Review-Button-Final
Friday:

Christmas morning was beautiful! I had a tempo interval workout on the docket. 4x(10@6:00 pace) with 5 minutes easy in between. Uncomfortably hard but doable. Walking home, I found a fruit basket just sitting on a bench. Maybe one fruit taken out of it and some condensation from the night, but perfect otherwise. So I took it. Winning


I ate the grapes and the banana and now I have some fruit to eat with breakfast this week. First Christmas win.


I then showered and made my way to my parent’s house where we hung out for a while before going down to my grandma’s for lunch. We took some family pictures.


Dinners with the 8 of us are always…well, I have no idea what anyone is talking about, so I sort of nob at times and eat my potatoes. It wasn’t so bad, but I was glad to have an out to the movies after a couple hours. There’s only so much I can pretend to know about who owns what field and where the best place to put duck decoys would be. Overall, I like hanging out with my family one-on-one better than us all together. I get lost in the conversation a lot and it feels weird.


My friend Jill, Fabian and I went to see Joy at our local theater. Take a look at that popcorn and slurpie!!


I think the blue flavor tastes like freezer pops with a celery aftertaste. Does anyone else feel the same way about this? The movie, staring Jennifer Lawrence was a rags-to-riches film about a woman who invents a better mop. I really enjoyed it, but it wasn’t the best I’d seen this year. I just love seeing people work hard and get results.


Afterward, I ended the night with my brother’s famous peanut butter haystacks. My favorite Christmas cookie by far!

Saturday:

I began the morning with a dark run beginning at 5:45. IT was foggy and I really should have remembered my headlamp. Everything was going well, until I took a pit stop at a station. This is 6:30 in the morning, 9 miles into my 11.5 mile run and nothing is open except this gas station. The woman was so nice because on the door it says NO PUBLIC RESTROOM, but she let me use it anyway. So I get into the bathroom and start to peel off my gloves and am hit with this intense pain. My hands were so numb and I had no idea, so it caught me off guard and I started crying. I had a small meltdown in the bathroom because I really was just so surprised. I then realized I was really thirsty…so I did something I do not advise. I grabbed a random cup that was in the ledge of the mirror (it was bent and probably not fresh, and turned on the faucet (which looked like a garden hose) and downed a cup of water. I then somehow got my gloves back on and finished the run.

Not my most favorite moment.

I then went to work, and ate some really good cauliflower Parmesan soup I made. After work I went shopping because I realized I hadn’t bought myself actual clothes in 2 years. I got a bit of money for Christmas and needed something. Almost $100 later, and here we are.


At work we just got in the Pure Flow 5 by Brooks. I think I have found my next shoe. Soft bottoms, completely seamless upper and a minimal drop. LOVE!


Sunday:

I remembered to light a candle when I ate breakfast because it makes me feel fancy.


I’ve had my scone game on strong for the past few days. I polished off 4 in two days. Not too shabby πŸ™‚


Lunch was another fresh Mozzarella, tomato and basil sandwich with the BEST Luna protein bar I’ve ever had! Chocolate Salted Carmel for the win. Classic and delicious.


I wore the new earrings my mother got me to work. Funny story about these; she tried to give them to me last month at Thanksgiving, but it was a choice between these and another pair and I couldn’t decide so I told her I didn’t want either. Luckily she remembered and gave me these for Christmas. What a doll πŸ™‚


Lastly, I follow some really cool make-up Instagrams, not because I would ever want to do it, but because it is really a work of art. This one, being a Harry Potter nerd hit me in all the good places. How can you not appreciate that talent?


I think I might head to Barnes and Nobel after work to exchange a gift…or finish my laundry.

Have a great Monday!

What is the best thing you did this weekend?

What is the most you’ve spent on clothes at one store?

20 comments

  1. I’m right there with you when it comes to the scones. Also, Caprese Sandwich for the win. I could eat those for days.

    I’m glad you got a day off for Christmas and were able to enjoy the holiday, duck decoy talk and all.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

    • They are seriously the most comforting sandwich but doesn’t weigh you down. I love this link-up, I like reflecting on the good weekend things πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve been craving a scone like whoa lately. Gotta get on that! Your movie-going experience looks perfect! You do it right haha. I loved those slushies growing up! And I haven’t had haystacks in years I forgot about those! Happy to hear you had the day off for xmas too πŸ™‚

  3. So I read this in the morning and all day was craving fruit (and secretly hoping I would also find a random mysterious fruit package lying around). How was strange is it that someone would leave that on a bench!? Strange, but awesome. Your experience during your run at the gas station is not exactly a nice one – pretty scary actually. Sometimes our reactions can really catch us off guard, but it sounds like your hands may have been colder than even you realized. Glad you had that soup at work to get you warmed up again. Scone looks amazing as usual – what kind are you into now?

    • That one was a black current, but I really like our monthly scones. This month was gingerbread. I am anxiously awaiting the cherry almond coming next month! πŸ™‚ We always have blueberry and current. I have a few recipes for chocolate scones I want to try!

  4. Harry Potter eye makeup. Yes I need this for my hubs and I marathon of all the hp movies on New Year’s Day haha.

    Also more importantly. What is the bes brooks show in your honest opinion and why?!? Can you tell I’m shopping?

    • In my opinion, the best Brooks shoe for most runners (with no injury or flat feet/over pronation) are the Ghost. They are the best shoe we sell. If you want more support, you cannot go wrong with the GT-2000 or the Ravenna. For a more minimal feel, the Flow and Connect are lightweight and let you feel the road. For trail, the Pure Grit is a great option.

  5. First things first you look really cute in that coat. Yellow isn’t for everyone but you can totally wear it.
    I’m glad you had a good Christmas weekend with both family and friends. That’s just the best mix. I hear you on preferring to spend one-on-one time with family members. While mine doesn’t talk about farms they’re loud and everybody’s interrupting each other with me feeling a bit lost in conversations at times.
    Also, peanut butter haystacks?! Why don’t we have/know these over here? That would be my kind of cookie.

    • Aw thanks! I think you’re right, I picked a good coat (second hand store FTW!). The haystacks are so simple! 1 c butterscotch chips melted with 1/2 c peanut butter. 2 cups chow mien noodles and 1/2 cup peanuts. Easy as pie!

      • Wow, that’s awesome. I have yet to be this lucky at second hand stores – it takes some practice to find the hidden gems, no?
        The haystacks sound so good but we can’t get butterscotch chips over here.

  6. For some reason I found your random bathroom cup story humorous- I guess because I’ve been on those “desperate times” situations many times before!
    I haven’t had haystack cookies in too long! They look delicious!!

  7. Awww it seemed like a great weekend! The whole bathroom incident rings in with me because I have to pee like 24/7 and I always panic if there is no bathroom around hahaha. Most I have ever spent in a store…can’t say a specific one but I know I have dropped a pretty penny in Lululemon a few times for sure!

Leave a Reply

