TOL: Almond butter and OITNB

You know howAwesomeit feels to try something and fail twice before getting it right? I think the delayed gratification makes the end product more memorable. It’s akin to being really hungry and then eating, the food just tastes so much better.

Well, last night was one of those times. I have tried and failed to make almond butter twice before and ended up with essentially almond pulp. I threw it away once and used it in a baked good another time. Well, I decided to give it another go last night and can say with delicious certainty I succeeded.


Pro tip: roast the almonds and let them go for five minutes. It really does take that long to release the oils.s


Look at that goodness!


I have started watching Orange Is The New Black really only because it’s written by Shonda Rhymes. She is great and the show isn’t bad once you get over all the sex scenes. Last episode Piper was sent to solitary for two days and it was hard for me to watch. My biggest fear is being caged up, so some parts of this show break my heart. Sterling loves it. Yes, he is fixed.


Speaking of prison, I had a doctors appointment in Elmira yesterday and there is a huge maximum security prison in town. I took this picture of the front grounds. I sear the prisoners have more holiday cheer than my coworker’s.


Finally to close this random post, who has been enjoying Christmas leftovers? I had these sweet potatoes for breakfast on Monday and they hit all the right places. The pecans that were mixed in pleased my tongue and tummy all at the same time.

What shows are you watching?

What is your favorite Christmas leftover?

15 comments

  1. I;m laughing at the fact that a prison is more festive than your work, hahah! I love making my own almond butter, and I was definitely shocked that it took so darn long to go from weirdly crumbly to buttah. Crazy stuff! Hope you have a wonderful New Years, Ellie!

  2. I watched OITNB after hearing too much about it about a year ago, and I was immediately hooked. One of the only shows I’ve watched every episode of. HA. I love it. I hear ya on the nut butter though, I thought surely it couldn’t take that long, but YUP it sure does! YUM! and so worth the wait.

  3. YES to homemade almond butter!! Its one of my absolute favorites, and so much cheaper than storebought when you can get the almonds on sale! I typically wait for plain almonds to go on sale for 4.99 a pound and snatch some up for homemade almond butter πŸ™‚

    • Great idea! I get the “older” nuts from my work, then I roast them and you can never tell! What is your favorite thing to put it on?

    • Oh yea! And you’re like freaking out because WHY ISN’T IT ALMOND BUTTERY YET?!?!?!? Patience is not my strong suit (hence why I do not cook πŸ˜‰

  4. I need to start getting back into making my own almond butter, because holy.snap are the prices ridiculous. And there’s definitely something about leftovers that hit all the right spots. I don’t have any left, but I’d have to say that my favourite is this potato/veggie salad that my mom’s been making forever. So good.

    Happy New Year’s!

  5. Nut butter game is STRONG!!! I never have much luck with homemade nut butters. And I have to admit, I’m a sucker for all the fancy ones at the stores! πŸ˜‰ My belly likes them, but my wallet? That’s another story! Happy New Year, Ellie!

  6. I have read OITNB (loooved it), but haven’t watched the show! And homemade nut better is the best! I usually have a jar of homemade PB in my pantry at all times, along with store bought. Sometimes, if I’m feeling fancy (or let’s be real.. if other nuts are on sale), I’ll make cashew butter. Mmm!

    Happy New Year, Ellie!

    • I’ve never made cashew butter before (I have ate it and it’s pretty good) but have made cashew cheese and it was epic! I just got some pumpkin seeds which might make a butter appearance here soon πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

