The Winter Chill 5K [18:40]

I have not raced since last October doing Ragnar ADK with a bunch of crazy people I now call my friend. So when I say I was a bit anxious about strapping on a number again, I mean these nerves were big. It wasn’t that I didn’t think I would finish, but that I didn’t really know how to race this.

I was majorly out of practice for racing in general, let alone a distance I had never done.

Man oh man was I excited!

4

I woke up about 6:30 for my pre-race shake out. It was pouring. Seriously sheets of rain, so I took it inside. Before a race, no matter how early I have to get up, I doΒ a shake out run. It cuts through nerves and reminds my body that I can run and will be fine.

I got home from that, ate breakfast and drove down to the 11:00AM start. When I got in the car, it wasn’t raining. I live 5 minutes from the start of the race, but by the time I got there, the sheets of rain started again and continued from then on.

I hadΒ a plan to warm up by running the course, but that was kind of futile because even though it was 45 degrees, any warm up I would do would be lost by the start. So bout 10 minutes before race start, I did a couple small laps and some strides. I wasn’t ideally warmed up but that would have to do.

I lined up, the gun went off and I found myself first person overall. I would stay that way the whole race so I focused on running faster than normal but not too fast as to bonk.

The rain and wind made the race interesting, but I hit the first mile in 6:04. I was feeling the burn build up a bit in my lungs, but I kept what I thought was a solid pace. The course is out and back so you literally get to a cone and have to stop and turn around. I did this cautiously so I didn’t jerk anything the wrong way. I started up again and hit mile 2 in 6:10. I get what people say about 5Ks, the second mile is a bruiser.

In the last mile, I remembered the email I got from my coach beforehand about how there would be less than 6 minutes left of the race and to go all out. I did my best and hit the last mile in 5:58.

I finished in 18:40 and was first person overall.

1

This was a great experience and hopefully I can improve my time in the future. I was very happy with how it went under the conditions. This race was small, around 50 people, which even the race director was surprised and didn’t bring enough food.

2

There were no medals, no fanfare, a perfectly typical Ithaca race. I loved it!

I got a few pictures with my running buddy L afterwards and we cooled down a few loops together. I felt great after the race and my body was like “ok, are we going again?”. That signals to me I have potential to improve and I wasn’t sore today (until I slipped on a patch of ice and now I can barely walk, but that is not this story).

3

Do you like small races or big races?

What is your race warm-up routine?

14 comments

    • Hmm well since I took a spill yesterday morning I am not running this week to let the swelling go down X-) But my next race is a half in April and then my first full in May!!

    • Thanks Liv! I slipped and fell Monday morning so I’m not really running this week (coach’s orders haha) but I’ve got a half marathon in April and then my first full in May!!! πŸ™‚ How about you?

  1. Ditto on the congrats πŸ™‚ Awesome! And it’s great that you have a 5K now on which to base your other races and training (if you want to of course). I need to get over my fear of the 5K and do one again! It has been about 5 years πŸ™‚ Totally depends on my mood for the size of race I like. I’ve run the Boston Marathon 4 times and one other marathon that was smaller. I think for that distance I would prefer a large race to keep my mind on the spectators rather than the miles πŸ™‚ For shorter distances I think small races can be fun too.

Leave a Reply

