Healthy Nanaimo Bar Overnight Oats [Sweet and Savory #1]

Now, I know what you’re thinking, what on earth is “nanaimo” and how do you say it? Well the second question is one I still struggle with, but after this post, you’ll have the answer to the first one.

In honor of Amanda’s Candian ancestry, and because this dessert is delicious, I’ve attempted to create a sweet treat from up north. Wikipedia tells me that a Nanaimo bar is a dessert that requires no baking and is named after the city in British Columbia, Nanaimo.

2

The bottom layer is a wafer crumb texture, the middle layer a vanilla butter cream and the top a layer of chocolate.

The first time I ever had this was at CTB. It looked like a simple Triple Layer Bar with a funky name. Oh my friends, it is so much better. The flaky crusty, light middle layer topped with a harder dense chocolate told me those Canadians can do it right!

3

I’ve search Pinterest long and hard for tasty oatmeal recipes featuring my favorite desserts…but the Nanaimo bar has been overlooked. Such a travesty must be remedied immediately.

This is the first Saturday in a new series from Amanda and Arman called Sweet and Savory Satrudays. I am happy to contribute the following oatmeal recipe. Check out their pages for more recipes and inspiration.

Sweet-and-Savory-Saturdays

Healthy oatmeal, protien from both yogurt and protein powder and just enough chocolate to get that fix.decadent enough for dessert, but honestly, I ate this for breakfast. Starting the day the Canadian way.

1

Healthy Nanaimo Bar Overnight Oats

2 gram cracker sheets crushed

1/2 cup vanilla yogurt

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

1/3 c almond milk

1/3 c oats

1 t vanilla extract

2-3 T chocolate chips

Place half of crushed gram crackers in the bottom of a bowl (or fancy mason jar). In a separate bowl, combine oats, yogurt, almond milk, protien powder and vanilla. Layer half the mixture on top of the gram crackers. Top with half of the chocolate chips. Put the other half of the gram crackers on top of the chocolate followed by the rest of the oat mixture. Top with the rest of the chocolate chips. Refrigerate for a couple hours or overnight. Munch!

Beauty eh?

What do you think of what you think Canadian food?

Have you ever had a Nanaimo bar?

16 comments

  1. I’ve never had a nanaimo bar but I’ve heard a lot about them! I think Oh She Glows has a few different versions on her blog and that’s where I first heard of them! They are made of all things that I like so I’m sure I’d enjoy them. Love that you made them into a breakfast! 🙂 What’s your favorite vegan yogurt? I’ve had the soy ones and am not that into them! Any brands you suggest?

  2. Haha reading these comments is so funny to me – I didn’t realize nanaimo bars were so unheard of outside of Canada! I just assumed they were a common dessert everywhere, or at least in the States. Well regardless. You know I am ALL over this. And not just because I’m Canadian. This looks absolutely delicious and totally my kind of breakfast. (PS nice use of “eh” at the end there 🙂 )

    • I hoped I wouldn’t offend anyone with the “eh” 🙂 I’m so glad you approve! I love your recipes and drool over all your photos. Remarkable!

  3. You rock my socks off, girl! Nanaimo bars were a pretty normal thing for me growing up, so I was kind of shocked when I started reading blogs and realized people had no idea what they were. I’d say that the first thing that comes to mind when I think Canadian food, though, is either poutine or maple syrup. I don’t care much for the first, but I LOVE the latter ❤

  4. My boyfriend comes from the states and I am from Canada, I actually discovered last week, after my mom made Nanaimo bars, that he did not know what they were! I told him he was probably blanking and would recognize them once he saw them, but he didn’t! How weird that the Nanaimo bar didn’t become big in the US! This looks delicious

Leave a Reply

