Flourless Chickpea Blondies [3 Ingredients, gluten-free]

I’m all about using up leftover ingredients. When the salad bar gets tossed at the end of the work week, there are always things like beans, lettuce, pasta and rice that I love to take home and enjoy for my meals when I am not working.

2

This explains my lack of cooking most of the time (although I can roast a mean squash and make some potato wedges that would knock your socks off!) Actually, this does not bother me too much. It gives me more time to do other things like blog, train, read or simple not move πŸ™‚ Right now, my roommate is making her boyfriend some gourmet meal and although it smells delicious, I have no interest in doing that.

I would rather eat PB&J…or these brownies (which I have eaten as a dinner entrΓ©e before #facepalm…#sorrymom)

The great thing about these treats is that not only are they delicious are arguably healthy, they are made with three ingredients that most of us have in our cupboards. Now I can see this as almost hoarding (#sorrymom) but to this day, my mom has both a pantry and a cellar full of canned goods that would make our family survive a zombie apocalypse. Having an extra (or 5) can of beans was like water. We just had them.

Now that I’m trying this adulating thing on my own, I realize that not many other families live like that. They grocery shop once or twice a week and keep a few basic pantry items just in case. I am always surprised that chickpeas (garbanzo beans) are ALWAYS among the things in the pantry. Even when I moved in with Gennie, she had a can of the beans (which I have now consumed) and she is not a pantry stuffer.

Maybe it’s Ithaca…maybe it’s because they are so versatile.

Chickpeas became my thing a couple months ago as a way to make my brownies dense, chewy, thick and moist. They replace the eggs, flour and butter that give other recipes the same texture. They ain’t just for hummus anymore!

I haven’t convinced you yet? Well, make these three ingredient brownies and you can thank me later!

1

Flourless Chickpea Brownies

2-15 oz cans or 4 cups chickpeas drained and rinsed

1 cup crunchy peanut butter

2/3 cup honey

1 t baking powder (optional)

1 t baking soda (optional)

2/3 cup mix-ins or toppings (I used candy corn M&Ms and Reese’s Pieces)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray a 9×5 baking dish. In a food processor, blend the chickpeas, peanut butter and honey until a smooth consistency is acquired and there are no chickpea lumps. Pour into another bowl and mix in whatever pieces you enjoy. Pour into the prepared baking dish (top with more fun things!!!) and bake for 30 minutes.

I like to eat it warm when it first comes out, but then I refrigerate them for a nice dense bar the next day (…for breakfast?)

What is in your pantry?

Do you cook often or eat simple meals?

22 comments

  1. Love your new lay out & title πŸ™‚ I myself eat really simple meals….2-3 ingredients, throw it in a bowl. But when I do cook, I like to get pretty complex. Happy New Year to you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

