What I Ate Wednesday [More bananas and green stuff]

New layout and logo! How do you like it? I am still testing things out because I am debating whether to go self hosted or not. Sometimes I’m all for it, other times I think my blog is just fine being what it is, a garbage dump for my brain.

Anyway, let me know what you think!

Remember when I said “I don’t care about your green drink?”

Well here I am face palming because I’ve got some green goodness going on today. I realized this predicament when my boss asked me today during lunch “What is in that green sludge you’ve got there?”

And I responded accordingly, “Random things I found in my fridge and pantry.”

Complete truth.

Before I get on to that good stuff, I must first thank Jenn for this fun link-up where I eat vicariously through all the wonderful people who consume things other than bananas.

BREAKFAST

1

I made a microwave banana cake, topped it with PB and then had an orange on the side. This breakfast has been really comforting the past few days since it’s been chilly. I’ve finally got the ratio of flour to bananas and amount of time in the microwave to work out for a dense cake. Not too sweet but stick to your ribs. The purpose of this was to get outside the protein powder bandwagon and use items that are cheaper. I can afford protein powder now, but maybe at other times in my life I wont be so lucky. Better to have a back-up banana plan.

LUNCH

2

Ok now for the green sludge. Vanilla yogurt, almond milk, oats, vanilla extract, super greens powder, protein powder, almond butter and a banana. I found the super greens powder in my pantry from a loooooooooooooooooooong time ago. I additionally found an old Jason’s almond butter packet buried in my candy stash. The vanilla yogurt is about three weeks past the sell by date (yogurt lasts longer than that, just as my mom) and the other stuff was just staples. Mix it together and yea, green sludge. I also found so really old Beanitos black bean chips in the cupboard that oddly weren’t stale yet. Winning combination!

DINNER

3 4

Classic PB&J and banana wrap. I have been loving putting granola inside these things too. It just adds a depth of flavor and crunch that gets to me. On the side is my favorite veggies and dip. Did you know that per calorie, broccoli has more protein in it than chicken breast? Yea, look at me dropping knowledge.

5

SNACK

Still trying to use up those yogurts, mixed with protein powder and BIRTHDAY CAKE M&Ms. Fancy dessert for the win! I also just found this bag of M&Ms in my candy stash that I had forgot about. I wonder what else I may have bought on impulse that would taste delicious tonight πŸ™‚

What is the most common thing you find what cleaning out your pantry?

What do you like to put into yogurt that might seem untraditional?

31 comments

  1. I love finding random food in my pantry! Especially if it’s not expired! LOL Sometimes you just forget those little impulse buys at Target or the grocery store. They make for nice surprises later though! What’s your favorite yogurt flavor?

    • Hmm, toughie…I’d say vanilla because I like to put other things in it. I’m trying red velvet yogurt tonight so I’ll let you know how that is πŸ™‚

  2. Some people just don’t realize how good green sludge can taste. I remember doing the same thing with Kale, butter and salt and pulverizing it in a blender. It was delicious! My son said it looked like mold πŸ˜€

    Love your new layout! It needs a picture of you running Ellie, right beneath your logo…you are such an amazing runner…and so humble! ❀

    • You think a running picture would be good? That’s a great idea! Kale with butter and salt sounds like a winner! It would mask the kale taste perfectly πŸ™‚

  3. Yoghurt and protein powder is always a winning combination! I often create something that resembles a sundae with yog, protein powder, nut butter and whatever other fruits or nuts I have in the cupboard!
    The ‘green sludge’ actullay sounds amazing too πŸ™‚

  4. I mean, if I didn’t know any better, it’d say you like bananas and PB or something πŸ˜‰ Seriously, every time you post that wrap, though, I want it!! And I have to say, that green stuff looks pretty gross. I’m sure it was delicious, but oh man. Not pretty hahahah

  5. First of all, I LOVE the new layout! Cute logo, and I love the “eating pavement” name because you’re a runner who likes to eat! So fitting.
    I’m also debating switching to a self-hosted site… we’ll see.
    What’s the banana cake recipe? It sounds so good, especially topped with peanut butter!
    Your lunch looks like green sludge, but it looks like delicious and HEALTHY green sludge! Haha.
    Also… broccoli has more protein in it than chicken breast?! WHAT!? Now I want to eat more broccoli!

    xx Ellie // https://peanutbutterandle.wordpress.com

    • RIGHT?! The caveat is that you need to eat a lot more broccoli to get the same amount, but per calorie, tis true πŸ™‚ I’ll have to post the banana cake recipe, but it’s really easy I wouldn’t even call it a recipe lol

      • Maybe if I ate a lot of broccoli my skin would turn from orange to green? It’s orange right now because I eat so many carrots (and therefore beta carotene) ahahaha. You should definitely post the cake recipe!! Easy recipes are the best!

  6. Bahaha.
    This pretty much sums up why I love you and your blog. You are a goof. A wonderful, banana inhaling goof.
    Do you have a recipe for that banana cake? My “no protein powder” ears perked up at the description of it.
    Then green bowl is…. intense. Ya. And amazing. I also have super greens powder from eeeons ago and I think I’m scared to open it up again. What if it has turned radioactive or something?
    Expiry dates are hogwash.
    Also. You should do a wrap rolling tutorial.

    • OMG I adore you Cora! Ok ready for this really complex recipe?
      2 bananas (ripe ones) mashed
      3 T flour (I use 1 T each of coconut, oat and almond)
      MASH
      Microwave for 3 minutes
      Top with PB
      EAT!
      I hope it’s not radioactive…but it wouldn’t surprise me haha

    • Thanks for your input Aurora. I am still thinking about it as my blog is not my business so I have time. I’m just not sure the yearly expense is worth it. I used to live on a street named Aurora. So very pretty πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

