Week In Review: BRRRR!

The temperature as on writing this post is -2 and sunny. That means it looks all nice outside, until you get out there and the wind literally whips at your face and your fingers burn.

4

Needless to say, my run today (and this week) have been on my good friend the treadmill. He might make me sweat and be a bit of a bore, but he is reliable and temperature controlled.

This past week has been pretty good to me. I had some solid runs, got in some blogging and recipe crafting and did a lot of social media forΒ FLTRC. Today I am linking up with Meghan forΒ Week In Review. It’s nice to remind myself how much I did and look forward to this next week. 40 degrees on Thursday!

Week-In-Review-Button-Final

Blogging

I published four blog posts of my own and one on the about treadmill running on theΒ FLRTC blog. I also worked on a few future recipe posts that will come out this week. Anyone who loved my chickpea brownie recipe will love the next one to come ou on Tuesday. It can even be eaten for breakfast!

I also got crazy on Chocolate Covered Katie’s website and took some of her ideas, changed a few ingredients and added them all together. I’m pretty happy with the results πŸ™‚ Recipe will follow soon.

7

I published two posts about running:

Fast Friday #4
Compression SocksΒ <— if you wanted to know whether these were worth it, I’ll give you my thoughts as well as where I buy mine. Feel free to order them through us or support your local store.

5
My eats from Wednesday Β Tuesday were also a popular post because I sharedΒ Nuts.comΒ and a recipe forΒ Maple WalnutsΒ that take five minutes to make right on your stove top. Check out both the website and the recipe and use them for some mid week snacking. I can’t say it will replace your cup of coffee…but it’s close.

Running

Despite feeling a bit down on Monday, my runs this week were solid. Honestly, it sounds weird but I just needed to run on the treadmill for a bit.

6

Hear me out on this. When you have a couple runs that do not go as planned, even if I tell myself that the weather conditions prevented me from running as fast (true) and running outside makes me tougher mentally (true) sometimes I just need the feeling that I can still hit those paces. Even though a treadmill is not a race, it does give me some validation that I am fast enough to run 6:40s and faster consistently.

Don’t get me wrong, my wet run from last week was fabulous, but I needed something else this week and the treadmill helped with that. I think my needs as a runner change week to week. Sometimes I need tough, other times I need consistency. I got that this week. I’m not at all sad about it.

My best run this week was definitely my 18 miler. Those middle 9 miles at faster than MP were so tough, but getting through it was one of the best feelings. I hope this next week brings that level of enjoyment.

In other running news, Saturday was the Olympic Marathon Trials! As of this moment I have not watched but will live stream them at 1PM. Benefit of working at a running store, it is kind of expected. On my run Saturday I visualized myself running them and did not want to stop. How much would I be freaking out right now if I was running the Most? Ummm…kind of A LOT!

2 5

My lunch for the marathon trials: spaghetti squash and chickpeas

My date for the trials: Sterling

Other Life Stuff

I got my laundry done and folded without too much stress. I did it after work on Friday and it was kind of like a wind down. I needed it after the tension I felt after work. My coworker was having a bad day and I probably didn’t make it better by telling him I wasn’t going to do some random thing he asked me to do when he could do it himself. I am getting better at not letting people push me around, but with him, I don’t think he’s trying to take advantage of me, he just has ad days….all the time. Something I’m praying about.

12

Sterling likes to help.

I worked four days at the running store and two days at CTB. We got some awesome new shoes in that I can’t wait to try out.

The Hoka Infinite

11

The New Balance Zante V2 and The New Balance 1080

3

All are so comfortable and I wish I could run in all of them!

For now though, I’ll stick to my Wave Riders for easy runs. We just got in tons of new colors of those too. Much needed! We were getting down to a few pairs.

8

I think I am getting in the groove here. I feel more confident in my shoe selling and other things. I like working here a lot. I feel treated well and fairly. Less employees mean less drama. I love that!

9

Yesterday being Valentine’s Day brought tons of fun looking sweets into CTB. Considering I was making my way through the aforementioned recipes above, I partook in a lighter snack, white chocolate covered strawberries. The white chocolate ones were the only ones left. Thank you everyone who likes dark chocolate! I loved eating all four of these that were rejectedΒ πŸ™‚

1

Well, I’m going to go back to freezing. Have a great week!

10

What is your favorite running shoe?

Which is harder for you, treadmill or outside?

12 comments

  1. -2? YOU POOR THING! And here I was complaining about 40 degree temps. Yikes. And I’m sorry about your co-worker. Sometimes that stuff can be difficult. It DOES sound like you are really getting the hang of your job though and are enjoying it – which is great!

  2. Oh man, that’s a lot of mileage. I’m getting tired just reading about it. Then again, it could be because I’ve been up since 3 a.m. today. Oops.

    I think Sterling might be the best partner and I’m so right there with you on the white chocolate covered strawberries.
    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

  3. I can’t imagine temperatures in the negative! And you ran in them?! I guess we all got a little crazy in us πŸ˜‰
    Those strawberries look awesome- I’d take the white chocolate too!!

  4. Ooh pretty shoes!

    I ran 5 outside yesterday in 19 with windchills making it feel more like 10. I would have opted for the treadmill but the gym was packed when I drove past & I didn’t want to deal with people glaring at me waiting for me to get off the treadmill. Hmph.

    • That would be really annoying and intimidating. When I go it’s usually early so it’s me and the old timers ❀ My soul people

  5. -2. Holy cow. It’s so warm here right now in Ft. Collins–it practically feels like spring. But yes, thank goodness for indoor exercise. I’m more of a biker than a runner, but I actually sometimes prefer indoors. It sometimes motivates me to push myself when I have a way to time myself (although, of course, it’s not as pretty.) Stay warm!

  6. -2!? That’s crazy. Thank goodness for indoor exercise. I’m a biker more so than a runner, and I find I actually sometimes prefer the indoor spin classes–it encourages me to push myself harder in a shorter period of time. But not nearly as beautiful, of course. Stay warm!

    • I’ve never been to a spin class! I think it would be too much for me in the morning. I like to ease into my workouts slow and steady. Maybe an afternoon pick me up though πŸ™‚

  7. Wait. -2 Fahrenheit? I didn’t think you guys got negative temperatures. I mean -2 here (Celsius) would be glorious right about now. Yesterday it was -32.
    “Those middle 9 miles at faster than MP were so tough, but getting through it was one of the best feelings.” —> This is fierce – like your own “Life is tough, but so am I” quote. That’s so awesome how confident and accomplished your runs make you feel. A true sign this is your passion, I’d say. Well done on all the hard work – especially including that laundry (I’m currently procrastinating from going to get my three loads. Ugh). Hope you have a good week of running coming up πŸ™‚

  8. Experimenting with recipes is always fun, especially when someone developed one before you, and you just make a few tweaks. I like to imitate the experts before going for developing my own. I hope this is an awesomely blessed week for you Ellie in our Lord Jesus. And I COMPLETELY get you on treadmill runs. Sometimes the treadmill is a welcome change. πŸ™‚

    • I always defer to the experts. I find that even if I think I made something up, some else has before and there is a Pinterest recipe for it =P

Leave a Reply

