Cranberry Cashew Chickpea Brownies [Vegan, Gluten-free]

Have I bore anyone yet with my use of chickpeas? Yes? Ok then this recipe is not for you.

2

If you are willing to humor me again and read another recipe featuring my favorite ingredient, welcome back to the blog!

Let’s recap how amazing chickpeasย are:

Flavor Neutral: the subtle nutty flavor compliments both the sweet and the savory

Nutrient Density: 1 cup holds 12.5 grams of fiber, 94% RDA of manganese, 71% RDA of folate and 15 grams of protein

Perfect Texture: givesย the dense, fudgy texture that eggs, butter and oil provide, that is necessary for a perfect Ellie-approved brownie

Cost Effective: a can of chickpeas is less than $1

Have I convinced you that chickpeas are a God-send wrapped in a yummy, healthy shell?

1

Not yet? Ok then make these brownies and you’ll be convinced.

Normally, I’m all about adding chocolate (specifically white chocolate) into my desserts. However, I traded the candy for dried fruit and honestly, I’m happy with the decision. It’s not that the fruit is better (heck no!) but I was able to use up my dried fruit and also justify putting frosting on the brownie as an afterthought. I love frosting.

Mmm…frosting…

Oh, yes, the recipe…

Whether or not you choose to format these is up to you. They are sweet enough for dessert but also nutrient dense enough to justify a snack or, gasp! Breakfast?

No added sugar, nutrients from the chickpeas and cashews, dense and decadent at the same time. These bars will please any brownie lover’s palate. Make these for your next brunch or dinner party. You won’t be disappointed!

3

Cranberry Cashew Chickpea Brownies

1 can (2 cups) chickpeas drained and rinsed

1 cup cashews soaked in hot water for 1/2 hour

2/3 cup dates soaked in hot water for 1/2 hour

1/2 warm water

1t baking soda

1t baking powder

1t vanilla

1t cinnamon

2/3 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 350 and spray a 9×5 or 8×8 baking dish. In a food processor, combine chickpeas, dates and cashews (drain the cashews and dates. I soaked them together in the hot water. Taste is unaffected). Once they are working, stream in the hot water until a nice batter consistency is achieved. Continue to mix and add in baking powder and baking soda. Once combined, stir in cranberries. Pour into baking dish and bake for 25 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Do not over bake.

Frost if desired (of course frost them!)

Chickpeas or black beans for brownies?

Do dates count as ‘added sugar’?

9 comments

  1. Haha you and your chickpeas ๐Ÿ™‚ you’ve definitely done a great job convincing me of their nutritional benefits though. WOW! I’ve never tried black bean brownies but I’ve heard really good things so I’d have to stick with those.

    • I want to make some of those soon. Not that I really have an interest per se, but that there are so many recipes that sound AMAZING and I’m a sucker for bean brownies lol

  2. These sound great! I love cranberries. I haven’t tried black beans or chickpeas in baked goods, but I’m sure they’re lovely! And dates… I don’t count them as added sugar ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

