Running Rambles #5 [Perspective]

I had a lot of thoughts on my long run Wednesday. 18 miles and a treadmill will do that to you, especially when you just watched a fantastic Olympic Marathon on Saturday.

5

Source

Those ladies, oh man, what effort, what heart, what athleticism. It was a perfect race for me to watch because it put things into perspective.

1.) They are blazing fast

Take away for me: Hard work and dedication to the training plan has already got me faster. I have a huge respect for the speed and the distance.

2.) They are between 25-35 years old

Take away for me: I have a long road of running ahead of me. I have only been running for about 7 years and running seriously for two. They have a lot more experience than I do so I cannot compare myself to them.

3.) Their full time job is running

Take away for me: I work two jobs just to make ends meat and still fit in 60-70 miles a week including three quality sessions. I also do recovery and leg work on the bike and in the gym. It’s a lot of work to assure I recovery appropriately because outside of running I am on my feet all day.

4.) They don’t have a social life

Take away for me: neither do I but that is something I am fully willing to give up to be good. I realize and have accepted the introverted part of me that wants early bed times, morning runs and quiet when I’m not at my job (which is very social)

To me, the marathon trials provided a look into what is possible if you give it your all. My perspective about professional athletes changed from thinking they had a certain pedigree to believing that regular runners who just work damn hard can get to that level. An elite runner doesn’t have to come from a collegiate background or have a certain gene, they have to work hard and believe.

6

Source

They have to get up everyday and run.

They have to follow a plan, take recovery seriously and base their life around sport.

They are just like me and you.

155

I’ve got a lot of running ahead of me. Many years till I reach a peak of sorts. The marathon trials gave me the perspective that things take time. Just as a tree does not grow tall over night, I cannot expect to run like Desi or Kara after two years of serious running.

At first, that was disheartening, but when you think about it, it’s actually great. I love running. I want to do it for a long time. I do not believe there is a time limit for me right now. I can only get better and that is really exciting.

Basically, the marathon trials showed me that anything is possible with patience, believe and hard work. I no longer feel restless to be faster tomorrow. I simply feel excited to run tomorrow.

How great is that?

What is something that has changed your perspective?

If you could pick one goal to achieve in the next ten years, what would that be?

11 comments

  1. These points are important to remember for ANY athlete. Sometimes I look at them and go “OMG they are YOUNGER than me and totally kicking butt!” but then I remember that only 1% of the population gets to be a professional athlete. Those people are blessed beyond belief for the chances and opportunities they have gotten. Its not for everyone. We aren’t all meant to be athletes, but that doesn’t mean we can’t train, compete and work our hardest to become one!! πŸ™‚

  2. Yes, I love that you took away important, encouraging lessons from them. I will never be that level of elite, but I think God has gifted you to where you can be that good! If you do it for Him, it will be AWESOME!!! πŸ™‚

  3. Love your words of wisdom on running here! You turned your feelings about running into such a positive, exciting thing for you and I enjoy that about you. Something that has changed my perspective… I think knowing that God made me exactly as I am (strengths and weaknesses… especially weaknesses and thorns in my flesh) and where I am in my life for a specific reason. It’s been amazing for my perspective when I get down on myself for making mistakes or feeling like I’m not good enough. I’m always like no… God made me this way and where I am right now for a very specific reason! It always changes my attitude and perspective πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

