Click Bait [02/28/2016]

Good morning everyone! I hope I find everyone in good spirits, great health and rested. Today is my first full day off since January 5th!! Remember that day?

1

I ran my first ever 5K in the rain on January 5th! What a few months it’s been since then! I cannot argue with that weather though. In January I’d rather be soaked at 45 degrees than freezing and sunny. I actually haven’t worn those shoes since that race either…I think they are done drying haha

Anyway, I was thinking today about the memories I have from my childhood. I’m reading a book called Big Girl by Danielle Steel and the woman who plays the main character has a childhood that is ripe for an eating disorder. Her father calls her the “tester cake” and always comments about her weight. She doesn’t fit in and knows it. Yes, she goes on diets sometimes, but really it seems like she is ok with herself and only aware of her size when her parent’s comment.

I was reminded of the things people said to me when I was young and how impressionable I was. Honestly, compared to the woman in the book, I did not have as much to put up with, but wounds run deep.

Then I was watching Fuller House and thinking of all the good memories I had. Something I’m still grappling with is that if I could do it over, are the good memories worth the bad? Would I do it all over if I had the choice? Honestly, I think I would.

I don’t have much of an explanation as to why other than knowing what I know now, I would do things differently. I would have been more serious about running earlier. I would not have let other people’s comments define me. I would have eaten healthier. I would have not been so judgmental. I would have been my own person earlier in my life rather than believing what my parent’s told me.

Ok, I’ve rambled enough, but perhaps I’ve given you something to think about.

Would you go back and do things differently?

What are some good memories you wouldn’t want to give up?

Click Bait Logo 3

I don’t have too many more words for you guys today. Enjoy these links as I have enjoyed getting them for you!

Happy Sunday!

 

How To Get Motivated When You’re Not Feeling It via Run To The Finish

5 Misconceptions About Working Out via Erin’s Inside Job

It’s Okay via Hailey Blake

The Depressing Life of a Hogwarts IT Guy via Dorkly

Having A Purpose and Doing Hard Things via Paleo Running Momma

5 Tips From The US Marathon Trials via Inside Tracker

Hopeful, Hungry and Chasing a Lie via Competitor

Athletes Angry Over Trials Treatment via Salty Running

2 comments

Leave a Reply

