Week In Review: Harry Potter AND Vegan?!

Happy Monday! The first week of March went by pretty quickly wouldn’t you say? I think I went into this week more rested and happy than I’ve been in a while. Having that day off on Sunday was really great. Since then I’ve just felt more alive. It’s not that I was sad or anything before then, but a sparkle has reentered my days. It’s truly marvelous.

Today, I am linking up with Meg for week in review. It’s not a list of what I need to do, but a chance to remember all I have done. Head to her site to find out more about this great link up.

Week-In-Review-Button-Final

Blogging

I published four blog posts this week including two on running and a WIAW. I spoke to a cool lady about her recent move to self hosted and it sounds terrifying. If I could just get someone to do that for me, I would totally go for it…oh yea do if the price tag wasn’t so high.

6

How cute is this?!??!

Side note! On Saturday two women came into the running store, one of whom wanted to buy shoes. The other woman, casually dropped Harry Potter references into the conversation about 5 times. As the other woman was paying for her shoes, she stated that it was too bad her friend didn’t want the Asics Nimbus…as in the Nimbus 2000!

Ok, it was fate. I brought up how amazing a line of Harry Potter shoes would be, and she began to tell me about the trip she is surprising her 6 year old with next weekend! Get this: she is waking him up early and they are going to catch a plane, on which she is giving him his “letter” and they are spending four days in Harry Potter World!

OMG I WANT THAT MOM!!!

Then she commented on my sweatshirt (I was wearing my Strong Hearts Vegan Power hoodie) and asked if I was vegan. I said yes and SHE WAS TOO!!!

That was the greatest thing to happen all day!

Ok, side note over 🙂

Check out my running posts:

Staying True To Myself
Fast Friday #7
Running

4

This week culminated in the best run I’ve had in about three months. I honestly had a solid week of workouts, easy runs and pure enjoyment. I ran up some hills on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday which reminded me how much hill running makes me feel great.

My long run Wednesday was fasted and I didn’t need any nutrition at all. I felt good energy the whole time and drank only water. This does not mean the run was easy, not at all, but my energy was solid and I knew I would finish strong. 8 miles at marathon pace after 10 easier miles could never be described as easy, but having a dependable energy source (fat) was a nice way to run.

My two  workouts were just what I needed for a kick in the pants and a confidence boost. I’m not at 26.2 shape yet, but I’m well on my way.

1

On Saturday I had a lovely 16 miler at a slow pace that I didn’t want to end. I had icicles on my eyelashes and grew an ice mustache, but it was a wonderful run. I saw a mom deer with four little babies and a beautiful red Cardinal. I watched the sun rise and warm the earth. I just felt great. That is what running is all about for me.

Other Life Stuff

I went hard of the avocados and basically had them everyday. In addition to that I made plantains, roasted sweet potatoes and tempeh bacon to go with that goodness.

38  10

I also made millet granola which is AMAZING and I’ve eaten so much of it I’m kind of frightened.

4

I made sunflower/pumpkin seed butter that has a Shrek color but I love it.

I made pumpkin protein fudge which was just the thing I wanted to eat as a dense delicious dessert.

5

I started reading the Lore of Running by Tim Noakes and let me tell you, that is a dense book! I stopped carrying it around and have left it at the store so I can read it while I’m there.

7

I started reading Eating Animals by Jonathon Saffron Foer again just as a “vegan tune-up” and it is just as compelling as the first time I read it.

1

I worked a steady few hours at both the running store and CTB this week. I noticed that on the wall near the schedule at CTB is a calendar year of times we are not allowed to take off…LOL my marathon in May is right in the middle. I’ve already talked to my boss though so I’m not playing with that this year.

I started to look ahead for the summer and there Re so many races that look fun. Oh the possibilities!

I got home from work today and did some much needed cleaning and nut butter making. I think the batch I made today was cashew-walnut-almond, with some maple syrup thrown in.

And finally, some gifs to make you smile:

9

2

How was your week?

What is the glue that holds your life together?

How has nature inspired you this week?

20 comments

  1. That granola looks delish! Peanut butter is the glue that holds my life together too hehe. Jealous of all those avocados too! My week was good but busy- excited to be on spring break!

    • The pumpkin fudge is 1/3 cup pumpkin, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder and 1/3 cup peanut butter. Mix it up and enjoy 🙂
      The hunting accidents pertains to me being a snarky animal lover and wish people didn’t hunt and kill things.

  2. There’s no such thing as too much granola. It’s one of life’s lovely little joys.

    I’m so glad you mention the marathon because I was going to ask what all that running was for, besides the obvious enjoyment you get from it. I don’t know about having fat reserves to draw from though. I don’t think you have an ounce on you. Right now, I’ve got all the extra ounces it would seem. Ah, the joys of pregnancy.

    I’m glad to hear you’ve got your sparkle back in your step. Days off will absolutely do that to you.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

  3. Yay for all the good feeling vibes! This was such a nice post to read. Keep spreading all that loveliness through your words. We need it for these last months of winter.
    First of all… oh my god that Mom. That was a bit of synchronicity. I’m guessing that would basically be you as a mom?
    Epic job on all the nut butter making, and for continuing on with that avocado – obviously it is marking a difference in your runs – which is awesome to hear. And millet granola! I’ve done that a few times and it is the best! So crunchy.

  4. That mum! The idea is genius and I wish I could have seen that little boy’s face when she told him.
    Eating animals is such a good and thought-provoking book. It’s been ages since I read it so might need to pick it up again. Now if only I knew where it is …
    I’m happy you felt more upbeat than in previous weeks. It’s nice to catch a good one when life seemed a little meh for a while. Fingers crossed this week will be a good one for you, too!

Leave a Reply

