WIAW: Recipe for Microwave Chocolate Banana-Oat Bread

Oh my God you guys! The weather! We have the doors open, my pink pants are on and I no longer have to use hot hands in my running gloves. This seriously makes me so happy! This morning I woke up and felt like I was a butterfly emerging from a cocoon of blankets into the beautiful sun! Ithaca has been blessed this winter. We really have!

Today’s edition of WIAW, thanks Jenn for hosting, is making me so happy. There is really no reason other than food tastes better when I’m in a good mood. The weather gave me a good mood, so therefore everything I threw together tasted amazing. Let’s get on with the yummies!

Breakfast

3

Banana, chocolate oat cake, topped with peanut butter and an apple.

I will give the recipe at the end of this post, but it was really easy. Again, I’m probably not the first person to do this, but why not share my knowledge if it was delicious? I have been craving apples more often lately, especially the juicy ones! What’s your favorite apple? I like golden delicious, gala and Empire.

Lunch

1

Black beans and tofu, mashed together and a tossed salad.

I was reminded why I don’t eat salad too often, at least salad with that much lettuce. I only like it if the leaves have an equal distribution of dressing. I don’t like either naked leaves or dressing saturated ones. I’m a salad snob.

Dinner

2 3

2

My go-to classic: 3-nut butter (walnut, cashew and almond butter) and banana wrap with my homemade millet granola, bowl of greens and dip

Dessert

march 8

Chocolate, peanut butter protein bowl. I essentially added some protein powder, this chocolate powdered peanut butter, pumpkin and almond milk together. It smelled delicious so I figured I couldn’t go wrong. My gym was GIVING AWAY packages of the powdered PB. Not like small packs, but the full thing! I love my gym! Anyway, weird combo but it was good. Recipe anyone?

Ok, now as promised, the microwave breakfast I created that someone else probably has a recipe for:

2
Microwave Banana Oat Bread

1 ripe banana

1/4 cup oats

1/2 cup water

1 T cocoa powder

In the microwave, place oats and water in a cereal bowl. Microwave for 1.5 minutes. Mash banana. When oats come out, stir in cocoa powder and mashed banana. Pour into smaller bowl (or keep it in the same bowl if you prefer) and microwave 1.5 more minutes. Top with PB.

Favorite apple?

Are you a salad snob?

Favorite spring food?

29 comments

  1. I said it already and I’ll say it again, THAT OATMEAL 😍 My favorite Apple is probably either gala or honey crisp! As for salads, I’m a MAJOR snob πŸ˜‰ Hope you’re having a great week love πŸ™‚ xo

  2. And we just ran out of bananas… πŸ˜₯ I can be a salad snob. I used to be afraid of dressing, but now I’m thankful that God enables us to eat salad WITH all the healthy fats in the dressing and tastiness. I love finding Honeycrisps on sale. It doesn’t happen very often, but when it does, it’s definitely a treat. πŸ™‚

    • Mmm honeycrisps are delicious! I only have like 6 bananas left girl so I feel your pain. I was going to get more today but they were all GREEN so I was not about that life.

  3. That oat cake looks delicious!! My favorite apple is probably pink lady or gala! I would consider myself a bit of a salad snob haha. I love lots of toppings like quinoa, black beans, tofu, edamame, craisins, nuts, veggies, etc. Hope you have a great day girly!

    • I am either off or on about chocolate. Either I want it really chocolatey or not at all. I bet you can guess what today was =P

  4. Your oatmeal looks nice and juicy! And that homemade nut butter blend sounds awesome. I don’t like saturated or naked salads either – usually I’ll dip my bites in dressing rather than pouring it all over.

  5. Heheh.. salad snob. I respect this. No one likes naked or soaking wet lettuce leaves.
    Favourite apple is honey crisp and I was soooo excited the other day when they were the cheapest apples at the store! Usually they are waaaay out of my budget.
    No matter the recipe – you are forever the banana peanut butter breakfast bowl queen. Yours will always make me drool. So I’m happy with another easy recipe from your kitchen.

    • Thanks Cora πŸ™‚ I think after photographing the same breakfast over and over, I’ve got the hang of it to make it look delicious πŸ™‚

  6. For some reason apples don’t taste as good to me as they used to when growing up. It could be because they were such a special treat right around Christmas time in the bags they used to give us with an apple, orange and Christmas candy. I would do the same for my children when they were younger. My husband usually buy the apples now – Gala or whatever is on sale. Joy!

Leave a Reply

