Sweet Potato Scones for 2

Whew it’s been a hot minute since I’ve gotten creative in the kitchen! Each time I do I remember how fun it is and how accomplished I feel. These scones here? They have been on my to-do list for, oh, MONTHS! 

  
I was planning to make a lot of them and take an afternoon to do so, but when I had an hour to kill before work and a massive craving…well, you get my drift?

So the inspiration? Not wanting to eat plain sweet potato anymore. Seriously I know it’s basically everyone’s favorite “carb” but after buying a lot of them, I was over it. 

Another inspiration: I had the ingredients.

Yup, I love scones in all forms, so I figured that after reading a billion different recipes, I could create my own version (on the fly), use less ingredients and make fewer of them in case I failed and they were horrible.

This recipe makes only 2 scones but if you want smaller ones, this would comfortably make 3 or 4 as well. I just shaped them into the size I wanted.

  
I tried them plain, with peanut butter and with lemon jelly and they were fantastic each time! 

Pro tip: I used chickpea flour in these. Why? Well honestly because I got it on a flash sale at my co-op and had wanted to try it.  Chickpea flour is something I had never used so I wanted to experiment. Well…why not experiment in my next recipe? Chickpea flour is high in protein and gluten-free so everybody wins. 

You can use regular flour, you might need to add some milk to get a better consistency, but play around with it. The flavor is so on point, honestly you could eat the batter (you actually could though).

I can’t wait for you to try these! If you do, let me know and tell me how they can be improved. I love making already tasty recipes even better!

  
Sweet Potato Scones for Two

1.25 cups chickpea flour

1/3 cup brown sugar

1t baking powder

3t cinnamon

3/4 c mashed sweet potato (I left the skins on mine when I mashed the most)

Preheat over to 400 degrees.

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Using a fork and then your hands work in the sweet potato until it has come together but still a bit sticky. On a floured surface, pour the scone contents out and knead it a few times working in more flour until the mass of dough is no longer sticky.

Shape into whatever scone form you desire and place on sprayed baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes or until the tops are starting to brown.

Devour!

What mix-ins would you add here?

Chickpea flour? Yay or nay?

24 comments

  1. Thanks for recipe. Yay to chickpea flour! I love it and always have it on hand. I add it to coconut flour for my (every) nightly pancakes (that I top with nut butter and jelly).
    Oh – so a day late but book recommendations:
    Bel Canto by Ann Patchett
    Blessings by Anna Quindlen
    The Double Bind by Chris Bohjalian
    A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
    And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hoseini
    This author’s Belmont Meade series: http://www.tameraalexander.com/

    • Sorry – that should be “Belle Meade” and “Belmont Mansion” series for Tamera Alexander books.

    • The first three suggestions are all books I have enjoyed as well. Chris Bohjalian’s Midwives is a page turner.

    • I LOVE Khaled Hosseini! Have you read The Kite Runner? Thanks for the recommendations! Do you have a Good Reads account?

      • Yes, I did read the Kite Runner and I liked that one a lot too. I liked the follow-up ones equally or better and that’s saying a lot b/c Kite Runner was fantastic.
        I do have a Good Reads account though I don’t update it that often. I write the books that I’ve read in my journal though and I have other friends on Good Reads so I’ll update it over the next few days. RunDream26 if you’d like to send me a friend request!

    • I haven’t tried any other but I’m sure with your baking skills you could try others and then add some milk or more sweet potato to make it work. Let me know if you try something. I know you’re good with the GF flours etc 🙂

  2. Yum! I have been wanting to try chickpea flour. Thanks for the recipe.
    In response to yesterday’s book recommendations: Would it be okay if I sent a friend request to your goodreads account?
    One of the best books I read last year was Inside the O’Briens by Lisa Genova. I recently read After Her by Joyce Maynard. Also, excellent. Eric by Doris Lund is a non-fiction account of a young athlete’s (in this case a soccer player) battle with leukemia.
    Also, have you ever seen the movie Chariots of Fire? I’m not a big movie person but this is one my favorites. It is the true story of two runners in the 1924 Olympics. Eric Liddell, a Christian is forced to decide between honoring the Sabbath and competing in a race he has spent years preparing for. I know a biography was written about his life but I have yet to read it as it is not available at my local library and I prefer not to purchase items online.

    • I have yet to see that movie but I’ve heard it’s one every athlete should see. Please send me a request! I am still learning how to use the site, but I enjoy seeing what everyone is reading and finding new books 🙂 Thank you for the recommendations

  3. I’ve never worked with chickpea flour, but it’s on my list! I love a good scone, but I don’t have them often enough.
    I am so excited for summer time when I can go to a cafe, eat a bagel, and read a book I checked out from the library.

  4. DUDE these look so good! Healthy, but good. 🙂
    Could I use almond flour or something else instead of chickpea flour? I’m not sure how to make it and I can’t buy it anywhere near me. Plus I want these soon. And waiting to get flour online takes too much time. 😉

Leave a Reply

