WIAW [Faith]

Before tackling another part of my vegan lifestyle today, I in no way am saying that my beliefs are correct for everyone. I am not saying anyone is wrong for not believing what I believe. This is simply what strikes a chord with me and how I live my truth.

I have been a Christian my whole life. I grew up in the church and gene really enjoyed it. Of course, Sunday’s were stressful and I hated the hassle of Sunday morning, but I did like what I learned there and going to Sunday school. I met my best friends in church. It was a social thing.

God and the Bible have always been what I turn to when I really need some guidance. The Word relaxes me, I feel at peace and worthy of Gods love. Granted, I went through a few years where I turned from God because I didn’t believe anyone could love me unconditionally, but once I accepted that, I have only felt strength and happiness from my beliefs.

The Bible strives to find peace. God is love. Jesus died to give us peace and eternal life. What I get most from the Bible is that in heaven, there will be no wars or suffering. We will all be in a happy relationship with one another and live forever.

When I began my vegan journey, I was unsure of how my beliefs would line up. After all, sacrificing a lamb so the angel of death would pass over isn’t exactly what I preach. However, once I looked deeper, I realized that eating animals only came to fruition after sin entered the world, after Adam and Eve were kicked out of the Garden. Before this point, what did they eat? That’s right, plants!

It wasn’t until the free will God gave them to sin took over and their eyes were opened to bad things that Adam and Eve ate meat. They had no reason to kill anything before then.

To me, this means that a peaceful society would also eat mostly plants. God provided animals for companionship. Humans were designed to be stewards over animals, not exploit and abuse them. Even if you believe that God provided animals for moderate human consumption, the way we have tortured them and made them suffer is not something Jesus would want.

Now, I know everyone is probably thing “but what about free range, cage free, blah blah blah…” And I can listen to your reasoning all day, but no animal wants to be killed. Killing something is not humane no matter what way you choose to spin it. I don’t care if the chicken lived in your bed room and was like a pet before you kill it, it is still being murdered before its time and that is wrong.

I believe that God has provided enough calories and nutrients in the plant based sources humans have found and developed so that we do not have to kill animals for food any longer. What once may have made it easier for humans to thrive is no longer necessary and is actually harming the planet and will be our demise.

Rather than go off on that tangent, I will conclude this by stating that for myself, eating meat is not in line with my Christian values. I want a peaceful, God serving planet and any activity whose core is violence and pain is not moving in that direction.

Ok, thanks for sticking with me and letting me provide more information about my vegan lifestyle.

To finish this post and a fun note, thanks toΒ JenΒ for hosting WIAW!

My meals are composed largely of these things:

Peanut butter, almond butter and bananas

3 4

Breakfast: microwave banana bread with peanut butter and an apple

2

Lunch: 3 mashed bananas with some flour, walnuts, pumpkin seeds, and almond butter, of course some pickles

1

Dinner: another microwaved banana bread topped with nut butter and cookie butter and greens

56

Snack: dark chocolate

2

Thank you to all the bloggers who profess their dark chocolate love! I guess I had to get off my sugar addiction before I could appreciate it.

Thoughts on my faith and veganism?

How do you define your morals?

Favorite Spring fruit?

16 comments

  1. This is an interesting topic. I don’t believe there is necessarily a “Christian” way to eat. I think honoring our bodies is important and I don’t think food should be the focus of our lives. I definitely agree with you that the way that God intended us to eat meat is probably far from how we do now. Like most businesses, the meat industry is driven by greed, which is really sad. As far as how my Christian values align with what I am eating, I do my best to be grateful and not wasteful. I try to nourish myself and others, with the word and with food.
    I love hearing your thoughts and think is is so important to attend to our on personal convictions.

    • I see what you are saying. I guess for me, I don’t need animals to suffer or die to honor my body. That sounds harsh and I don’t mean to be rude, but that’s how I feel. I think it’s really important to be grateful for the sacrifice animals have given you and your acknowledgement of that is really amazing Kate πŸ™‚

  2. I definitely agree with you that God is a TENDER and compassionate God, and that it was because of man’s sin that sin and death entered the world. Death isn’t necessarily a sin, but it is a curse, and it’s REALLY sad that the meat industry in America has become so driven by greed and a desire to make a profit. That’s why I’m being more and more driven to want to support local family farms where they do care for their animals in a Christ-like, compassionate way. I LOVE hearing these thoughts, because it shows that you really want to honor God and that we do need to be thinking about this in line with obeying and loving God and mirroring Christ, even in our eating. πŸ™‚

  3. Good points and I enjoyed reading. Not an answer to any of your questions… but I’m wondering if you would understand my thoughts. What I have struggled with is vegetarians who eat dairy. After I visited a dairy farm and saw how the animals are corralled and seemingly very uncomfortable, I almost think it’s worse than eating meat. At least the meat animals die (hopefully) quickly. Not that killing animals is good to begin with ( I personally don’t eat animals) … my point is the on-going suffering of the dairy animals is something I think people don’t consider. The dairy animals seem to suffer daily.:(

    • I totally agree with you. The horrible conditions that dairy cows must live in are insufferable. They should not have to suffer in that way. I think that vegetarians think they are doing less harm, which depends on if you think suffering is worse than death. I’m not sure as I have not suffered like that before. It’s a good question to ponder

  4. I definitely agree with you that the way we treat animals is not in line with what a loving God would want.
    I appreciate how you share your beliefs and think it’s so important to stay true to our convictions. Thank you for sharing in an open and non-confrontational way. Too many people (vegans, omnis, Paleo-ears, etc) think “my way is the only way” and I don’t feel that judgment from you.
    As for me, I try to limit my waste and eat food that makes me feel good ethically, nutritionally, or even emotionally. I try to eat with gratitude and enjoyment because I am so lucky to have several stores/markets nearby, a largely unlimited grocery budget (within reason), and a husband who loves to cook! πŸ˜‰

  5. Thanks for sharing. I think it’s so, so important to be aware of the impact that our habits–whether that’s food, transportation, shopping, etc.–has on those around us. I’m not vegan, or even vegetarian, as you may know from my blog, but I try to think about the environmental and ethical consequences of what I eat and buy. The Biblical creation story tells that humans were created to be stewards of the earth–in some ways, God’s very first commandment to them. And one of the ways we can absolutely do that is be aware of the environmental consequences of eating so much meat, as well as the way animals are treated in our industrial production system!

  6. Totally agree with your points on veganism (as I should – I am a vegan myself!). I never understood people who use the Bible as a reason to eat meat. Being able to articulate your beliefs is a great quality to have- I wish I could get a little better at it!

    • Thank you Kerri πŸ™‚ I do my best and have a lot of practice (you should have read some of my first vegan posts…bleh!)

  7. Very interesting post, I do not believe in a religious way of eating either or if there was one it would be vegan because treating all life with respect, doing what’s right to prevent suffering, and taking care of the environment and your temple are faithful things to do, Great thoughts on the subject, thanks.

Leave a Reply

