Fast Friday #12 [Back-to-Back Races]

After my race last Sunday, this week held a lot of easy running, some indoors and attempts to recover appropriately for this Sunday’s race. I’m not sure how I will race it yet, I am waiting to see how I feel Sunday morning. If all goes well, it could be a great race. If not, oh well, there will be others. This is my last scheduled race before my marathon in May.

I did not have the forethought to take too many pictures this week, so here’s the one I’ve got.

6

[The woman who took this said she is “great” at taking photos]

Monday: OFF

Zero running on Monday as my legs were pretty sore. I did a bit of recovery spinning on the bike and lifted some weights. I felt better after doing this and I’m glad I recovered as well as I had. It’s not just muscle soreness, races take it out on the immune system as well. That’s what this week was about. Recovering the inner workings of my body, not my muscular system.

Tuesday: Easy Run

11.2 miles at 8:00 pace

Getting out the lactic acid felt good. I did this on the treadmill because it was freezing outside and my legs weren’t ready for that yet. I could just tell. A couple podcasts kept me happy and my legs are feeling like themselves again.

Wednesday: Easy long run

17.2 miles at 7:51 pace

I did this on the treadmill again after a really bad night’s sleep. I was supposed to meet my running group, but after tossing all night and going from hot to cold so fast, I knew I needed an extra hour of sleep. I got that hour and then punched out some mileage on the mill. I’m happy with my decision.

Thursday: Easy Run

13.2 miles at 7:35 pace

God spared me from the rain, but not the wind. I started out really conservative because I could still feel lingering soreness in my legs. I got through the run feeling pretty solid and now my legs are feeling recovered. I wore compression socks today and think I could have a shot racing Sunday. I essentially ran the course backwards this morning so I know what I’m in for. I’m not scared, I’m excited!

Friday: Repeat 400s at Race Pace

As of now, I’m pretty sure I will do some 400s tomorrow, then go easy on Saturday and shoot for racing hard on Sunday. I hate signing up for races and not racing them hard. I just need to hydrate appropriately the next two days and have a smile on my face.

I’m feeling good about getting back to racing. I remember why I love it even if it is a suffer fest sometimes. One of the reasons I do enjoy speed work is because of the pain. What is it about distance runners and athletes and our ability to love the pain that comes with our sport?

Have you ever raced back-to-back weekends?

Any tips for me?

12 comments

  1. You are a machine Eliie! Seriously, you are my running goals. Seeing your milage is genuinely what inspired me to build my distance back up. Keep up the amazing work and GOOD LUCK on Sunday.

  2. You’re crazy, Ellie! But it’s the good kind of crazy- I wish I could be as crazy as you when it comes to running! 🙂
    I can’t believe your easy run is 11.2 miles at an 8:32 minute pace. That’s longer than I’ve ever run, and that’s like my normal pace!! Haha.
    Good luck with your race this Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

