Week In Review [Double Races]

Except for Sunday, the day I raced, I forgot to take a lot of pictures this week. I took pictures of my food…and that’s really it. I guess you know where my head was at πŸ˜‰

However, no sense in not linking up because I was busier than usual. Time for Week In Review! Thanks to Meg for hosting.

 

Week-In-Review-Button-Final

This week was all about recovering from last week’s race and mentally getting ready for Skunk Cabbage.

Honestly, I missed racing very much. It’s not just the fast times or competition, but the friendship and comradery. I loved all the social media coverage from the race and post race photos.

Oh, and because I’m so nice and want everyone to feel good if they take a bad photo, enjoy a hearty laugh at my expense. This was one of my race photos:

6

If that doesn’t say #SnowBeast I don’t know what does. Glad to have that experience behind me.

During my recovery week, I was sore until Thursday. THURSDAY! And I wanted to race on Sunday. Many times during the week I thought about pushing it even when my calves were still telling me to wait. Finally on Thursday they felt back to normal, so I decided to do a shorter workout Friday of 400s at race pace to help with turnover and basically remind my legs what pace I wanted to race at.

2

The decision to wait was a good one, because I had a great race on Sunday and took first female overall. I’ll recap it later this week, but it was both FUN and a PR!

1

I ate some good banana bowls this week. The essential chocolate flavor:

5

Mixing in some raspberry jam to get a berry-banana bread actually was a highlight of my breakfast week:

9

I didn’t only eat bananas, but hummus made it’s way back into my life with some roasted red pepper and cucumber:

8

And classic hummus with veggie chili:

7

I worked three times at the running store and three times at CTB. I will be returning to CTB fulltime for the summer and I am happy with that. The running store was a great experience, but I am needed more at CTB with coworkers leaving. If FLRTC does need help, I can fill in if they ask. I’m ready for CTB summer!

And now because this post lacks pictures, some laughs to start your Monday for the reader in all of us:

3

4

And now I’m off to read and relax!

Tell me your favorite breakfast this past week.

What are you looking forward to most this week?Β Β Β Β 

22 comments

  1. I saw your instagram picture. Congratulations!!!! Awesome job. Right now I’m most looking forward to my chiropractor visit later today to get rid of this pinched muscle in my back! πŸ˜‰

  2. Wow, congratulations on your race! Give me some of your running speed ;).
    All of your meals look delicious. Veggie chili is always a hit and topping it with hummus? I need to try that!

    • It is really tasty to top the chili with hummus! I never thought about it before seeing Matzo ball soup…and sort of taking that idea and making it my own πŸ™‚

  3. Congratulations Ellie! That’s fantastic! I am throughly impressed. Is that chili from work? Looks delish. What are you reading?

    • The chili is from work. It’s called veggie chili, so a lot of beans and peppers/onions/tomatoes. My favorite soup!

  4. Oh my gosh that picture!! Not that I had any doubt before, but this boosts your fierceness up a new notch. I can’t believe you ran in that snow!
    Huge congrats on your win! Definitely goes to show the recovery break was a smart choice.
    I can’t wait to try your idea of putting hummus into soups/chilis etc. So smart.
    Here’s to a new week ahead πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

