The Skunk Cabbage Classic 2016 Race Recap

Remember when I raced this last year? The weather was beautiful and I established it as my favorite hometown course. This was also my sister’s first half marathon!

2

Well, this year it lived up to it’s name. It was beautiful weather again and I cannot argue with the people and the course.

Getting there: One of the reasons I love this race is that it starts a mile away from my house. I walked to breakfast and then to the start line.

3

Time/Results: 1:20:37, average pace: 6:07

I was 1st overall female, beat the course record and PRed by 4 minutes. To say I am thrilled would be the understatement of the year.

8

Pros: Hometown race, surrounded by friends, amazing scenery, good race food, organized event (Great job Alex! <—the RD just gave birth and still knocked it out of the park!)

4

Cons: …nothing…

Take-aways: This race was about stress/injury management, and once I started and felt good it was about hill management. I told myself before the race that if something started to hurt (injury, not racing pain), that I would slow down or stop. This did not happen, so I raced hard.

The first hillΒ  I went up too fast mostly because I was trying to establish my position as lead female and lose the woman chasing me (Hey Bailey! If you read this, you scare me you’re SO FAST!).

6

Luckily we then his a flat and then downhill so I was able to regain my composure and race smartly. I ran fast on the down hills and used them to recover from anything I lost going up. For hills, I maintain the same effort, not the same pace. That is a key difference for how I used to race compared to now.

After that, I just tried to keep my position and enjoy the course. This sounds like it was easy. It was NOT. I repeat, people who run fast still HURT when running. It never gets “easy” in the sense that I will never click off 6 minute miles without breathing hard. This race is tough because it is hilly.

The test came at mile 10 where there is a steep uphill. However, I reasoned things out before I hit that and knew it was only about 2 minutes of pain, and I can do anything for 2 minutes. I do not pass people on uphills (unless they are walking). After that I chased the guy in front of me to the finish. I caught him but we finished side-by-side.

I am absolutely thrilled with the results. I have been working hard and God has blessed me with a win. I was interviewed by ESPN Ithaca after the race and talked about how my sister inspired the last two miles. All I could think about was her. ❀

5
Last year’s race

I want to thank the Finger Lakes Running Club for putting on a great race and all the volunteers and racers for making this so fun!

57

I want to thank FLRTC for the gift card as well as Ian for his announcing.

8

I want to thank Balega for the great socks and for including me on their team.

4

Lastly, and most important, thank you to STRONG HEARTS VEGAN POWER for being awesome teammates and helping me through. I really do think about all of you when I am racing!

12

Now, to break 1:20:00!

18 comments

  1. My goal is to break 1:30. So you break 1:20 and I’ll break 1:30 – let’s do it!!
    Great re-cap. Just enough detail and not too much (like some people go into every mile). Your recap was just right πŸ™‚
    Thanks!

  2. I LOVEEE that you wore the vegan shirt as you WON THIS RACE!! If that’s not proof that vegans can thrive I don’t know what is. THAT right there is the activism you are doing in this world without even trying.

Leave a Reply

