Week In Review [Short and Sweet]

Good morning guys! I’m writing this just as I get home from work Sunday night and kind of want to put my feet up and relax. I’ve been a bit busier with work this week, but have some fun things to share that made me smile.

Thanks to Meg for getting this link-up party started! And congratulations to her on the birth of her little nugget 🙂

Week-In-Review-Button-Final

My running week was a bit of a downer. I was recovering from last week’s race so there was no real workouts outside easy running. On Wednesday, I went for a longer run with my lady run group and noticed a soreness on the inside of my left ankle.

The next day, it was still there and hurting. I had a workout planned for Friday, but did not do it because I was afraid of injuring myself (which I did last year at this time).

3

I am blessed to have a lot of running knowledge at my finger tips not only online, but also coaches and friends nearby. They helped advise my schedule to not injury myself further and maintain my base. Putting in two solid races has me in good shape for my marathon. Honestly, if I didn’t do another workout till then, I would still get a good time. I was advised to take 10 days off workouts, then do a long MP run of 23 miles, that being my longest.

I am so glad to have so many great runners around me, because I probably would have not been so smart with my planning and maybe pushed it too far.

On Sunday morning I was able to get in a 2.5 hour run on trails which made me really happy. Compression, ice and anti inflammatory foods guys.

11

Speaking of anti-inflammatory food, the fresh fruit smoothies at CTB are making me swoon. I don’t smoothie them anymore, I make what I call “Fruit-soup”. I just mix a couple together and eat it like soup. My favorite: mango, raspberry and blueberry. Clutch 🙂

8

6

In other news, I did all the usual things this week, laundry, shopping and fed myself.

I bought three new ramekins the other day because every picture I take looks the same in my white ones. The Pioneer Woman has a set of dishes that were perfect! Red, purple and blue ramekins now grace my breakfast plate 🙂 I also bought us new silverware after breaking the third spoon in our set. We were due.

5

7

9

I received a box from Plant Fusion proteins containing a shirt and many protein samples. I love this company and I hope to work with them in the future. I already have made a couple banana bowls using their powder and they are DELICIOUS!

2        12

That’s really all I can think of to note about the week.

How’s life where you are?

What is the best thing you did this week?

 

23 comments

    • I really like the addition of protein powder to things. The powder has to be sweetened though. Lesson learned on that hahaha

  1. Oh no – your ankle! I’m glad you have a lot of great support around you to help push you to give it the rest it needs. I know If only left to my own inner dialogue I would push myself beyond what I should. Sounds like the rest is already working positively for you – and i hope it continues to feel okay. I’m jealous you got done laundry. That’s the biggest challenge of my every week.

  2. Those ramekins are totally cute! I love buying new dishes and such for the blog. It literally is more exciting to me than clothes shopping lol

  3. Hi Ellie! I was doing some reading this morning and came across a bit of trivia I thought you might find interesting. At the 1980 running of the Boston Marathon a woman named Rosie Ruiz was declared the winner. However, several witnesses had spotted her descending a city bus. Eight days later she was stripped of the title because she hopped on a bus for several of the miles and got off at a stop about a mile from the finish. How’s that for nervy?
    (My apologies if you already were aware of this event.)

    • That’s pretty interesting Sarah. I’ve read a lot about cheating recently and think it’s so sad. Even bib swapping is getting sketchy! Thanks for sharing 🙂

      • I agree. No matter what your running looks like each week you can take pride in the fact that you aren’t hopping on a bus to log more miles! 🙂

  4. That is discouraging–sorry to hear about the sore ankle. I’m glad that you’re taking the time to heal up, though. I agree–the amount of information we have available to us about health and fitness is amazing!
    Love the ramekins! I went to the thrift store and bought so many run dishes for food photography when I started my blog. It’s probably a good thing that I have a small kitchen, or I’d be tempted to buy so much more. : S
    Have a great week!

  5. I’m glad that your ankle is feeling better! That plantfusion powder looks great. I really want to look into that or buy it next time I am out! Have a great day Ellie!

  6. I hope your ankle continues to heal up well for ya! So glad you have so much knowledge and sound advice in your world! The ramekins are very cute, too. Can’t go wrong with Pioneer Woman!

    Best thing I did this week (so far) has been to take a long, much needed nap yesterday!

Leave a Reply

