WIAW [The Environment]

Climate change is real guys. Regardless of what my dad or conservative politicians say, it is real. Today I want to share some of my thoughts about this in conjugation with my vegan lifestyle and then, since that will get boring quick, an easy infographic and then my meals for WIAW.

If this winter was any indication (or if California’s drought makes you think twice) the world is getting a bit warmer. This is due to greenhouse gases getting caught in the atmosphere and a bunch of other things that will make this post look like a research paper. That is not my intention because although the research is important and I could provide studies, I just want to share my thoughts and what is important to me.

My blog, my rules.

Climate change is important because warmer weather kills different animal species. This is important because the more biodiversity an ecosystem has, the better able it is to survive and thrive. Animals and plants work together and use each other harmoniously to make our earth work. Animals eat plants, then they die and become the grass. It’s the circle of life (this Mufasa in The Lion King).

ClearcutForest

Having a vegan lifestyle is important in reducing the effects of climate change because animal agriculture and industry is responsible for a large percentage of greenhouse gas and a loss of biodiversity.

Think about a forest with dozens of types of trees, animals, plants, and fungi all living together. Well, now a farm sets up next to this forest. He has a large population of cows and although they can graze on some of the plants in that forest, there isn’t enough for all of them and it takes too long for the baby cows to grow into bigger cows. The farmer needs the money from the milk and meat of the bigger cows. In order to grow more food for his cows, the farm cuts down the forest (and everything in it) and grows one crow: corn, so his cows can now eat and grow faster.

cowspiracy1

Having a corn only diet is not sufficient to keep the cows free of sickness because it is not providing all the nutrients a cow would have gotten from the diversity of the forest. In order to keep his cows healthy-ish, the farmer gives them antibiotics and hormones, which not only show up in the milk and meat, but create awful waste when the cow defecates. This toxic waste gets into the streams and rivers, polluting them and the surrounding areas.

The plants and animals in these areas also die reducing the amount of oxygen produced and increasing the amount of greenhouse gases produced on the farm.

When the farmer wants to sell his animals, they must be killed, shipped and packaged for stores hundreds of miles away. These things also contribute to the pollution in the environment and atmosphere.

Yes, I made up that story and a lot more goes into it, but as you can see, this is what I think about when I try to do what I can to reduce my carbon footprint. Did you know that by simply forgoing your next burger, you could then shower continually for 6 months and still use less water than it took to make that burger.

Crazy right!?

As with all these posts, I’m not saying my way is the highway, but I hope I’ve given you something to think about. Here is a handy infographic for you

Cowspiracy-Infographic-Metric

Ok, now time for What I Ate Wednesday! Thanks to Jenn as always πŸ™‚

3

[Carrot-banana protein bowl topped with coconut butter&orange/apple]

1

[Same as breakfast]&[mushrooms dipped in red sauce]

2

[Lentil and corn soup, topped with hummus and mushrooms&fruit soup]

6

[Some scoops of PB]

What is your favorite snack?

Have you tried mixing hummus in soup?

28 comments

  1. Thanks for all this info! I’m obviously not a vegan, but I do appreciate their views and find most of them to be really knowledgeable! I always love learning, so thank you so much for sharing this with us!

  2. Great post with info! Climate change is huge and so many strange weather things have been happening lately that I don’t know how anyone can deny it. Cowspiracy was tough for me to watch even though I’m already a vegan. Great eats!

    • It was so informative though! Actually, it made me feel better about my habits. I always used to feel like taking a longer than 5 minute shower was wasteful. But now I know that since I don’t eat meat, I’m already doing a lot so if my shower is 6 minutes, I’m not that bad of a person πŸ™‚

  3. I definitely understand, and as Christians, I think it’s so important for us to learn how to properly care for and take dominion of this world that God has made. I know that He cares for it, but I know we also have responsibility to take dominion of it for His glory!

    I appreciate you sharing this Ellie. ❀

  4. It’s really great that you’re highlighting climate change this week, it’s something I really want to educate myself more about and I found this post very helpful. Part of my plans this summer are to make a few lifestyle changes and to become more aware of the impact my day to day life has on our beautiful world. It truly saddens me that we are destroying our home BUT I also believe that it’s not too late to make changes to reduce the impact of climate change.

    • It does look grim, but I like to be optimistic. Just recently 125 countries signed a treaty to reduce global CO2 emissions which looks like a step in the right direction

  5. Yes, I’ve tried hummus in soup and I LOVE it! I’ve tried making my own hummus but I never seem to come up with the right combo of salt/tahini/lemon. Store bought is delicious πŸ™‚

  6. Wow. I’m very aware of – and passionate – about environmental issues and was aware of the destruction of animal farming and gas emission. But I learned a heck of a lot more with this post, and you’ve got my passion flared up again. Wow. Those facts are really hard to believe. I won’t be giving up animal products completely but this definitely motivates me to think of where I’m getting my meat from and to continue moderating my consumption. Wow (did I say that already?).

  7. Thanks for all of this info, Ellie! I love that you always do your research on issues instead of blindly claiming something. I love that about you!

    As for my favorite snack… I think chocolate. Or a smoothie. Or cookies πŸ™‚

  8. I could never understand why climate change was a debatable thing in the First World, while in Jamaica we accept it as an established fact. What do you think accounts for that cultural difference?

    • Americans like to hear what they want to hear. They like to keep up their bad habits and not think ahead. It’s about our immediate gratification society. It’s so sad 😦

      • I suppose that’s true, but it’s even more true about Jamaica. We never think ahead. Third World life is about survival, which is immediate gratification. Maybe we’re more likely to accept what we learn in school?

Leave a Reply

