Matcha Green Tea Protein Cookie Dough

I had never heard of matcha powder before I started listening to the Rich Roll Podcast. Now granted, most of the superfood supplements I cannot afford but once in a while, so I pick very sparingly. Honestly, the best superfoods for me are bananas and peanut butter, which I can find really cheap.

Matcha green tea powder is a concentrated form of green tea, which we all know has many healthy benefits. Matcha is high in a group of antioxidants called catechins which are the most potent cancer fighting compounds. Matcha increases calm. Think about how relaxed a cup of tea can make you! It also has been linked to increased endurance, a strengthened immune system and boosts mood.

2

I love the way matcha provides a depth of flavor that doesn’t taste “healthy” or “green”. We all know what I mean hear. Matcha really works in this recipe because it gives a subtle flavor and enhances the recovery properties already present from the protein powder.

I know you’ll enjoy this recipe just as much as I did. Don’t forget to head over to Plant Fusion to get your hands on their wonderful protein powders. Recovery right, with matcha and Plant Fusion!

3

Matcha Green Tea Protein Cookie Dough

1 medium sized banana

1/4 c almond milk

1 T matcha powder

1 t vanilla extract

1 scoop vanilla Plant Fusion protein powder

2 T shredded coconut

1/3 cup walnuts

Mash your banana in a bowl. Add protein powder and matcha and start to combine. Stir in milk and vanilla. Mix until everything is incorporated. Stir in walnuts. Transfer to a smaller bowl (optional) and top with shredded coconut. Top with a few more walnuts.

A few other ways to enjoy this:

Instead of whole walnuts, omit that step, mix in the coconut and top with walnut butter. I’ve never done this, but it sounds divine don’t you agree?

Top with coconut butter instead of shreds. I would have done this but when I attempted to make coconut butter, I failed.

1

Any fool proof ways to make coconut butter?

What other ways have you enjoyed matcha?

12 comments

    • Aw thanks babe! I actually think it’s something I need to work on in my spare time. I’m touched you think I am improving 🙂

  1. I think I would love the taste of Macha but I am terrified of caffeine and can’t have it (even though I think Macha has very little). I start to shake and my heart races if I have any caffeine.
    I wonder if making coconut butter is like making nut butter. You have to use a TON of the coconut (or nuts) to get it to actually work. I like small batch things so I’ve just decided to buy the jarred stuff 🙂

    P.S. I wanted to thank you for the Myrtl Exercise link you posted (was it last week)? My butt and hamstring had been super sore. My massage therapist had recommended exercises a while ago and I failed to do them. Anyway, I’ve been doing these Myrtl exercises every day since you posted and I feel almost back to 100%. Thank you!

    • You’re welcome Amanda! They really do help don’t they? Even if I’m drained after a speed workout, I try to get them in. It’s like health insurance hhaha
      In my experience actually I cannot make large batches of nut butter. I find that my food processor can only handle about a 1-1.5 cups of nuts or it takes FOREVER. Maybe coconut is a different beast

  2. I used to put matcha in pancakes and would make my own lattes (hard to get it to mix in completely though). I had a couple experiences where it made my blood sugar really low (it can be powerful stuff!) so I’ve been a bit afraid to use it since. But I’d like to bring it out again… I’d just start with a small amount. Soooo many health benefits.

Leave a Reply

